Pink Mountaintops / Axis Of Evol
Album: Axis Of Evol   Collection:General
Artist:Pink Mountaintops   Added:Aug 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-14 Pull Date: 2007-03-18
Week Ending: Mar 18 Feb 25 Feb 18 Feb 11 Jan 28 Jan 21
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 07, 2014: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Cold Criminals
4. Feb 22, 2007: Fiction Romance
Plastic Man, You're The Devil
2. May 31, 2007: Fiction Romance
5. Feb 17, 2007: press and release
3. Mar 15, 2007: Fiction Romance
Lord, Let Us Shine
6. Feb 15, 2007: Fiction Romance
New Drug Queens

Album Review
Scott Coomes
Reviewed 2007-03-07
Pink Mountaintops: “Axis of Evol”.
Laid-back drug-rock with folk and blues tinges. Side project of Stephen McBean (Black Mountain). Uses the same bluesy vocals/fuzzed out guitar formula as Black Mountain. Mostly consistent feel throughout. Tracks tend to lock into a cool groove and stick with it while the vocals provide the variety. Tracks range from gentle soul to driving crunch. Bluesy, stoned vocals. FCC: #5
Play #6, 1, 7
1) 2:53 –Slow folksy repetitive plucking. Subdued, bluesy vocals.
2) 4:39 –rock. repetitive electric guitar riff. driving rhythm. White noise fades in and out. Walking bass.
3) 1:47 –starts paranoid single note melody. Distorted guitar and multiple vocals. Poppy, druggy rock.
4) 8:52 –slow vocals. repetitive, drawn out riff. Cool, psychedelic feel. Organ? goes on for a little too long…
5) 3:52 –blues feel. Acoustic guitar, with slow slide electric. Cool. FCC (shit).
6) 5:05 -Electronic beat, heavy guitar. Compressed vocals. Hymnal chorus. Awesome track.
7) 7:30 –slow folk ballad. Strung-out spirituality of desperation. Soft plucking. Peaceful.

Track Listing
1. Comas   4. Slaves
2. Cold Criminals   5. Plastic Man, You're The Devil
3. New Drug Queens   6. Lord, Let Us Shine
  7. How We Can Get Free