Gadget / Funeral March, The
Album: Funeral March, The   Collection:General
Artist:Gadget   Added:May 2006
Label:Relapse Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-08-13 Pull Date: 2006-10-15 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Oct 15 Oct 8 Oct 1 Sep 17 Sep 3 Aug 27 Aug 20
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 24, 2007: Baptism of Solitude (Favorite hardcore, punk and metal releases of 2006)
Black Light
4. Oct 05, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Black Light
2. Oct 14, 2006: All Hands On Deck
Black Light
5. Oct 04, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
Vagen Till Graven
3. Oct 11, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
6. Sep 28, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
Black Light

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-08-15
Gadget – The Funeral March (Relapse)
Amazing Swedish grindcore. Fast, heavy, and brutal but with melodic guitar melodies thrown in once in a while. The band rarely slows down and only one track reaches the 3 minute mark. Think NASUM, ROTTEN SOUND, and SAYYADINA.
**1. After a quiet fad in intro this track goes full speed ahead. There is a short melodic breakdown.
2. More bass and lower vocals. I like the trade off between heavy grindcore and melodic sections.
3. The guitars never get very heavy but the track is still fast.
4. Slightly punk sound into the usual heavy grindcore. Vocals are high screams and low grunts.
5. Catchy repetitive guitar riff. There is a slow heavy section in the middle.
6. Similar to the last track with a mid-paced thrashy ending.
7. Slow doom guitar instrumental with a noise ending. Reminds me of slow MISERY INDEX tracks.
8. Odd, mid-paced track then eventually kicks into fast grind.
**9. Damn heavy with pummeling drums that never let up.
**10. Relentless with a number of different guitar sounds and riffs.
**11. Whoa, a guitar solo at the beginning. This track goes through a couple changes including a very melodic section. Ends with feedback.
**12. Wow. I love that they pack so many ideas into a 1:17 minute track.
13. The longest track. Guitars are slightly more metal and halfway through the track it slows down and keeps slowing down till the end.
14. A different sound, somewhat melodic and mid-paced at the beginning but then guitar solos and a more metal sound.
15. More melodic with vocals that border on singing. Sill heavy with a couple nice guitar riffs.
16. Slight metalcore sound with double-bass drums. Simple breakdown.
17. Slow and heavy with vocals you can almost understand.
Great stuff. -mph

Track Listing
1. Choked   9. God Of Led
2. Feed On Lies   10. Vagen Till Graven
3. Requiem   11. Illusions Of Peace
4. I Am   12. Black Light
5. Tristessens Fort   13. Out Of Pace
6. H5n1   14. Let The Mayhem Begin
7. Everyday Ritual   15. Bedragen
8. Day Of The Vulture   16. The Anchor
  17. Tingens Forbanneise