Previte, Bobby / Coalition Of The Willing, The
Album: Coalition Of The Willing, The   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Previte, Bobby   Added:Apr 2006
Label:Ropeadope Music Entertain  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-05-14 Pull Date: 2006-07-16 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 16 Jul 9 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 28 May 21
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 2 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 13, 2008: Memory Select
4. Jul 14, 2006: Memory Select
Anthem For Andrea
2. Feb 16, 2007: Memory Select
Anthem For Andrea
5. Jul 11, 2006: Umami Jazz Program
Memory Hole
3. Aug 11, 2006: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
The Inner Party (w/ Skerik, Charlie Hunter, Stanton Moore)
6. Jul 07, 2006: Memory Select
The Ministry Of Truth

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-05-13
Lots of classic-rock testosterone here, featuring Charlie Hunter on NORMAL 6-stringed guitar, for the first time on any record!

Hard-driving but super happy in its mood, these songs continue Previte's streak of writing basically rock instrumentals with occasional jazz turns in the melody and bassline (main themes to #1 and 5 come to mind). Elements of soul, funk, surf, and even prog. Bright, rocking stuff, maybe a bit too much so -- some of it could be used in bad TV detective shows. Insistently upbeat, with an aggressively smiley approach on almost every track.

I'll admit to mixed feelings on this one. It's well done, but as far as the writing goes ... the rock/jazz hybridization doesn't completely convince me. I'd almost prefer that Previte either go all-out with simple rock lines or go back to the more directly modern-jazz stuff he did before. But then again, I'd have for him to just do what everyone else does, be it on the rock or jazz side. So in the end, I applaud him for sticking with this direction, exploring territory that sets him apart from most other jazz bandleaders. And the stuff is fun to listen to, I'll admit -- highly recommended for fans of electric jazz/fusion or even funk.

Hunter plays guitar and bass. Others in the band include Jamie Saft on keys, Steven Bernstein on trumpet, and Skerik on sax; a second guitarist and a harmonica make appearances too.

1- Borrows from '60s surf, but with a more fluid theme/melody. Mid/fast
2**- Blaring guitar siren, insistent drums. Mid/fast. Cool gloopy bass. Later, upbeat electric soul jazz.
3- Hard-digging guitar after a sparkly intro.
4- Psych rock feel w/fuzzed guitars.
5**- Guitar riff, nearly proggy, bright midtempo. Snippet of reggae jazz in 2nd half.
6- Blues. Mid/fast and electric, with a twinge of mystery
7**- Mellow midtempo, quiet with soft electric piano chords. Scratchy harmonica solos.
8**- Dramatic and soaring, with high-energy solos and rock-star basslines. Kinda pop-proggy. Maybe tries a bit too hard.

Track Listing
1. The Ministry Of Truth   5. Oceania
2. Airstrip One   6. The Innter Party
3. Versificator   7. Memory Hole
4. The Ministry Of Love   8. Anthem For Andrea