Young Playthings, The / Pick Up With...
Album: Pick Up With...   Collection:General
Artist:Young Playthings, The   Added:Mar 2006
Label:Dionysus/Hell Yeah  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-04-09 Pull Date: 2006-06-11
Week Ending: May 28 May 21 May 7 Apr 30 Apr 23 Apr 16
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 06, 2017: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Teenage Tricks
4. May 03, 2006: Brownian Motion
Sweet Pea
2. May 24, 2006: Foreplay and Sex Wax
Plastic Toy
5. May 03, 2006: Distraction-Limited
Sweet Pea
3. May 17, 2006: Evil Twins
Elegant Narcotic
6. Apr 29, 2006: On The Warpath
Sweet Pea

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-03-31
Retro rock from Dionysus records. Female vocals, melodic and crunchy guitars and beats that smack more of New York 60’s influenced new wave a la Blondie or Patty Smith than straight Shangri Las or the Seeds. Moments of Pretenders too. Lots of Farfisa. A couple awkward studio moments where the guitars or the vocals don’t really translate. Something tells me this band doesn’t record well but smokes butt live.

1) surfy beat, hooky “love sick” chorus
2) more standard late 70 pop wave feel
3) more patty smith/blondie melodic type feel, but super slick hooky melodic, almost mainstream but not lyrically
4) jangly ballady
5) standard pop rock feel
6) very retro sock hop feel
7) upbeat pop rockin melodic, sorta so-so vocal breaks
8) simple basic rock
9) smarmy love song, slower swingy almost slow dance, heavy farfisa

Track Listing
1. Love Sick   6. Sweet Pea
2. Gimme Everything   7. Lovers Tonite
3. Plastic Toy   8. New Baby
4. Bring Your Heart   9. Elegant Narcotic
5. Teenage Tricks   10. Jeffri