Lerche, Sondre/Faces Down Quartet / Duper Sessions
Album: Duper Sessions   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Lerche, Sondre/Faces Down Quartet   Added:Mar 2006
Label:Emi Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-03-19 Pull Date: 2006-05-21 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: May 21 May 7 Apr 30 Apr 16 Apr 9 Mar 26
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 19, 2006: Memory Select
Human Hands
4. May 05, 2006: Memory Select
Night And Day
2. May 19, 2006: The Top Shelf
Night And Day
5. Apr 28, 2006: The Top Shelf (sub for Natalie)
The Curse Of Being In Love
3. May 15, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
[Hidden Track]
6. Apr 24, 2006: This Is NOT The P.A.C.C. - This Is Bloodstains
The Curse Of Being In Love

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-03-17
Norweigan popster takes his turn at jazz crooning. He's got the attitude and a kind of smooth/masculine voice like a hipster Harry Connick ... although his indie-rock resume shows through in the occasional missed note (and not just the high ones). With piano and swinging' guitar, much of the CD comes off like indie pop although there's plenty of *jazz* jazz (1,3,8,9,14). Less pompous than Elvis Costello's jazz takes, the retro sound here is pleasant, although the overworked #10 gets excruciating. Btw, most tracks are originals, many with fast peppy lyrics. FCC clean.

1- Mid/fast, an upbeat straight-jazz sound
2- Floaty and light. Good, but try not to think "lite rock"
3- Jazzy toe-tapper
4- Indie-pop-like, with bouncy mid/fast pace and fast lyrics
5- Slow, w/sad country slide guitar
6- Indie-rock Cole Porter, mid/fast, just vocs & guitar
7- Light, breezy, mid/fast, a bit country/folky
8- Jazzed-up Elvis Costello obscurity: Fast, brisk, cool
9- Slow romance
10- '70s variety show hell, with strings. Why, Sondre, why.
11- Lush midtempo, tiki-lounge mellow. (Prefab Sprout!)
12- Jazzy
13- Mid/fast but soft
14- "Hidden" track in Norweigan(?), swingy, jazzy, bright

Track Listing
1. Everyone's Rooting For You   8. Human Hands
2. Minor Detail   9. (You Knocked Me) Off My Feet
3. Across The Land   10. (I Wanna) Call It Love
4. The Curse Of Being In Love   11. Nightingales
5. Dead End Mystery   12. I'm Not From Here
6. Night And Day   13. You Sure Look Swell
7. Once In A While   14. [Hidden Track]