Porest / Mood Noose
Album: Mood Noose   Collection:General
Artist:Porest   Added:Mar 2006
Label:Resipiscent Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-04-23 Pull Date: 2006-06-25 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jun 25 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 28 May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 30
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 5 3 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 17, 2011: gilt
Boloko, How Things Work
4. May 14, 2009: orangeaSM
Tom And His Wife
2. Jul 07, 2009: Hipster Garbage (Vicodin Music Hour)
Swirly Gates
5. Aug 26, 2006: Bloodstains Across Atherton
Drain The Swamp
3. Jun 21, 2009: scatterbrained orangeasm for emphasis
Tom And His Wife
6. Aug 20, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
Tom And His Wife

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-04-19
A grab-bag of samples, found sounds, treatments, collage, electronics, strange and beautiful profound and disturbing moments, often together. High quality stuff, what you might expect from a local guy who is part responsible for Sublime Frequencies (if you don’t know that record label, run don’t walk) and collaborating with a long list of greats, from Sun City Girls to Negativland, Caroliner to People Like Us and Zeek Shek. Note the enclosed cleaned up version of track 11 that I did.

1) 8 seconds
2) looping off-time rhythmic, bassy
3) FCCs, lewd
4) sparse tones, blips
5) electro low fi beat, strange vocals that remind me of Eno, like Eno on designer drugs
6) FCC, too bad
7) cool beats, collage and dark feel
8) minimally treated east European radio pop or something
9) great strange old recording of a kid talking, a dog barking, obtuse and obscure in its new setting
10) transcript about the California Condors, with dark bassy electro, transcript gets mashed up to talk about “rare and threatened humans”, love it
11) FCCs, tons (ONLY PLAY THE ENCLOSED CLEAN VERSION) disturbing, a woman describing how she is going to kill her husband, then he assaults her, “ow”, sick
12) cheesey jazzy reworking, kitsch and sick
13) bass electro, brief
14) slow evolution involving field recordings of a tropical nature, turns noisey and creepy
15) total drone out, from higher pitched to a sublime low loop
16) brief, dark electro collage-noise, gets super loud and buzzy in end
17) live brass band feel. Like a high school band on acid and crystal meth
18) beautiful drone noise, starts quite then evolves with layers, lovely
19) very nice distorto noise, mildly melodic
19) noise collage of treated field recordings, old school noise feel, layers, loops, last 3 minutes are sparse, very quiet
20) treated voice, spoken, in a pitched changed Barry White tone, you’d expect a theme of love but the theme is bitter jaded hatefulness

Track Listing
1. Pressure Drop   11. Tom And His Wife
2. Mother Of All Mistakes   12. All In The Wrist
3. Lady Surinam   13. Scorpion Dust
4. Advocate Of Cadavers   14. Drain The Swamp
5. The Highest Order   15. Cartoons Aren't Funny
6. The Key And The String   16. Giardia Gain
7. Frosty Leer   17. Just Take My Air
8. Kabar Yetse Poniskyo   18. Swirly Gates
9. How Things Work   19. Pleurisy
10. Boloko   20. Bus
  21. We'll Be Talkin'