Uninvited Guests, The / Live Recordings V.01
Album: Live Recordings V.01   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Uninvited Guests, The   Added:Feb 2006
Label:High Mayhem  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-05-07 Pull Date: 2006-07-09 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 9 Jul 2 May 21 May 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 07, 2006: Memory Select
High Mayhem Studio, 1-14-2005
4. May 12, 2006: Memory Select
Bar B, 7-21-2004
2. Jun 27, 2006: Umami Jazz Program
Aztec Cafe, 4-27-2002
5. May 09, 2006: Umami Jazz Program
Aztec Cafe, 4-27-2002
3. May 16, 2006: Umami Jazz Program
High Mayhem Studio, 1-14-2005

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-05-04
Free-improv with a mostly jazzy lilt, relatively accessible. These sessions come from a project that puts musicians together in small combinations that have never played before. Baltimore's annual High Zero festival does the same thing, but this is more a "band" and doesn't lean towards the sonic-exploration that High Zero favors. (For samples of High Zero, check out Joe McPhee's "Mr. Peabody Goes to Baltimore" or Carol Genetti's "The Shattering," both in our library.)

Bassist Carlos Santistevan was part of the trio that started The Uninvited Guests and is the only player to appear on all five tracks. Among the other guests is Chris Jonas, a sax player formerly from the West Coast; I think you can find him on a couple of Dan Plonsey CDs we've got, and he appears on a Braxton project or two.

1- Groany bass and lonely trumpet. Gradually heats up into a jazzy jog with swampy bass and hard-beating drums. Builds up to a fast loud pace.
2- Creaky, slow, quiet start, builds to a mid/fast swirl aided by live sampling of the players. Later, gets perky/jazzy.
3- Two basses, drums, turntables. Opens with religious monologue, into an eerie jungle thumping. Then quieter, with swampy synth-like sounds. Long ending passage has a spooky atmosphere. About 18 minutes overall.
4- Quiet start with airy melodica (kind of like accodion). After 4 minutes, it becomes a light sax/bass/drums trio with a jazzy feel.
5- Gets into a speedy jazz jumble after a slow, slow start. Sax, drums, bass, guitar.

Track Listing
1. Aztec Cafe, 4-27-2002   3. Bar B, 6-02-2004
2. Cinema Cafe, 4-03-2003   4. Bar B, 7-21-2004
  5. High Mayhem Studio, 1-14-2005