Summerbirds In The Cellar / With The Hands Of The Hunter It All Becomes Dead
Album: With The Hands Of The Hunter It All Becomes Dead   Collection:General
Artist:Summerbirds In The Cellar   Added:Jan 2006
Label:Slow January Records, Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-04-23 Pull Date: 2006-06-25
Week Ending: Jun 4 May 28 May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 30
Airplays: 2 2 3 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 31, 2006: Foreplay and Sex Wax
Behold The Wolf
4. May 23, 2006: America's Least Wanted
Strange Answers
2. May 30, 2006: I once was a Radio of Imagination
Strange Answers
5. May 19, 2006: The Top Shelf
Strange Answers
3. May 24, 2006: I once was canadian
Strange Answers
6. May 18, 2006: New Music
Strange Answers

Album Review
Boo Radley
Reviewed 2006-04-21
Pleasant indie synth-pop along the lines of the American Analog Set or Pinback, which depending on your disposition, tells you all you need to know about the music- You'll either find it terribly warm & engaging or boring as all living hell. So give it a spin and decide for yourself. While these birds are confident enough in their craft, I only wish they could have spread their wings a little more and just let it fly. – Try: 2, 3, 4 No FCCs

1) Opening Instrumental
*2) Warm, jagged rhythms, yearning, angsty vocals
*3) Darker sounding. Synth & drum machine augment a slight pop hook.
*4) Soft verses give way to upbeat choruses. Some screeching guitar.
5) Downbeat. Soft almost weepy vocals over piano. Textured harmonies.
6) Mid-Tempo. The most upbeat track suffers from an air of pretentiousness that I couldn't quite shake. Reminded me of The Vervepipe's "The Freshman"
7) Instrumental
8) Mid-Tempo. Poppy & almost jaunty in approach. Some psych sounding droning & guitar. Vocals reminiscent of a Dave Grohl ballad.
9) Mid-Tempo Shoegaze Psychedelica. Repetitive lyrics start to grate. Starts slow then builds to a relatively heavy three minute jam of late 1960s fuzz.
10) Slow Dour Pop. Starts soft & slow and builds slightly. Music fades out with :58 seconds remaining followed but the sounds of... birds. Gee, imagine that.

Track Listing
1. The Machines Wont Fail   6. Beware Of False Prophets
2. Strange Answers   7. The Black Republic
3. Sunlight Sickness, Electric Night   8. Lonely Sleeping Giant
4. Behold The Wolf   9. What Were We Trying To Protect?
5. Ghostown   10. An Honest Friend