Vek, Tom / We Have Sound
Album: We Have Sound   Collection:General
Artist:Vek, Tom   Added:Jan 2006
Label:Star Time  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-01-15 Pull Date: 2006-03-19
Week Ending: Feb 26 Feb 19 Jan 29 Jan 22
Airplays: 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 07, 2023: deep storage
I Aint Saying My Goodbyes
4. Nov 29, 2017: deep storage
The Lower The Sun
2. Mar 21, 2019: deep storage (2015-2019)
I Aint Saying My Goodbyes
5. Oct 26, 2016: deep storage
I Aint Saying My Goodbyes
3. Mar 14, 2018: deep storage
I Aint Saying My Goodbyes
6. Oct 29, 2015: radio seven
I Aint Saying My Goodbyes

Album Review
Wicked Child
Reviewed 2006-01-11
Bass-heavy new-new-wave indie with electronic flourishes. Mostly mid-tempo with Vek's low-tenor/high-baritone voice. Vek thinks this is a lo-fi album since he recorded it in his garage, but it's not. If you slowed The Killers down and took away most of the guitars, you might end up with Tom Vek. His lyrics can be painfully repetitive, especially in the last two tracks, with one phrase being repeated over an over for upwards of a minute.

Some of these tracks are nearly alternative-radio ready, track 5 is different enough to be the most interesting thing here. Picks: 2, 5, 7. FCC Clean.

1) Catchy, new-wave indie. Repetitive chorus. (4:32)
***2) A minor remix could make this a hipster dance-floor hit, loud DFA-style breakdown. (3:45)
3) New-wave guitar, post-punk vocals, mid-tempo. Like Mclusky but slower and not as angry. Cowbell(!) throughout. Drum machine claps at end. (3:47)
4) Funky, super funky in the last minute. (3:51)
***5) Most punk-punky, low fuzzy vocals that occassionally go absurdly high, heavyily distorted guitar, pauses for very short math-rock interludes. Cousin: Franz Ferdinand's "shopping for blood." (3:37)
*6) Similar vocal styling to track 1, fuzzy guitars, organ sometimes gives this otherwise dark track an injection of summer. Nice electronic flourishes. (3:37)
**7) Catchy bass riff. Nice electronic flourishes. (3:36)
8) Talking Heads-esque. Swirling, sometimes dancable, electronic beat. (4:17)
9) Mopey, bass-heavy, repetitive vocals. (4:11)
10) Glitch beat with guitars, more repetitive vocals. (3:50)

Track Listing
1. C-C (You Set The Fire In Me)   6. The Lower The Sun
2. I Aint Saying My Goodbyes   7. Cover
3. If You Want   8. Nothing But Green Lights
4. A Little Word In Your Ear   9. On The Road
5. If I Had Changed My Mind   10. That Can Be Arranged