Love Like Fire / Demo
Album: Demo   Collection:General
Artist:Love Like Fire   Added:Sep 2005
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-12-18 Pull Date: 2006-02-19
Week Ending: Feb 19 Jan 29 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 09, 2007: The Lunchbox
Frozen Horizon Lines
4. Jan 08, 2006: Neurotic Tonic
The Contest
2. Feb 15, 2006: Deep in the Groove
Spoiling Afternoon
5. Jan 06, 2006: Eels in the Loo
Spoiling Afternoon
3. Jan 23, 2006: Distraction-Limited (Alumnus Version)
The Contest
6. Jan 06, 2006: Biff Bang Pow
Spoiling Afternoon

Album Review
Scott Coomes
Reviewed 2007-03-07
LoveLikeFire: Demo
Rock-pop, described as neo-shoegazer. Female rock vocals that convey more depth when notes are held, rather than in the lyrical parts. Use of guitars effects works well, and level of distortion strikes a happy median. Standard rock percussion. Songs seem strong, but not too much variety. Most of the melody is contained within the vocals, while guitars just add harmony and atmosphere. All tracks are partially up-beat and having a driving rhythm. LoveLikeFire have a full sound, with no weak elements unto themselves. However, none of the songs are particularly interesting, but track #1 works the best, and has a cool intro. Track 4 is also worth a listen.
FCC clean.
1) “The Contest” –starts with cool guitars. Repetitive rhythm guitar strumming. Pop female vocals with a decent amount of dynamism. Standard rock percussion. Short guitar solo at 2:00.
2) “Spoiling Afternoon” –electric guitar begins with arpeggio; moves into quick strumming; cool distortion. Driving guitars and expressive vocals, with some background whispering.
3) “Frozen” –more sedate than previous tracks. Awesome use of guitar distortion crescendo, but sadly buried. Boring percussion and rhythm. Builds cumulatively.
4) “Horizon Lines” –Poppiest track. Off-beat percussion. Electric guitar gives song a little bit of an edge. Around 1:52, instrumentation drops out for solo vocals, then more intense guitars return.

Track Listing
1. The Contest   3. Afternoon
2. Spoiling Afternoon   4. Frozen Horizon Lines