Earth / Hex: Or Printing In The Infernal Method
Album: Hex: Or Printing In The Infernal Method   Collection:General
Artist:Earth   Added:Sep 2005
Label:Southern Lord Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-01-08 Pull Date: 2006-03-12
Week Ending: Mar 12 Feb 26 Feb 12 Jan 22 Jan 15
Airplays: 1 2 1 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 13, 2013: Brownian Motion
Land Of Some Other Order
4. Jul 20, 2011: Brownian Motion
Lens Of Unrectified Night
2. Nov 12, 2011: Songs: Cantan with others
Lens Of Unrectified Night
5. Jun 04, 2008: Beerstains Across Amsterdam (Sub For Y.I.F.)
Lens Of Unrectified Night
3. Jul 27, 2011: slowburner bricolage
Land Of Some Other Order
6. Apr 18, 2006: Scatterbrain Radio
The Dire And Ever Circling Wolves

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-01-05
Brilliant. Earth continues to evolve and has taken a quantum leap. While Sunn ((O))) converged with Earth of old expressing walls of sustained Marshalls, this new material deconstructs Dwayne Eddy and Link Wray in the same way they originally did Sabbath and Pacific Northwest doom. While the sound of Earth originally was born of the filth found on the floor of a dingy club that a Bleach-era Nirvana had just destroyed, this is born of the dust in the middle of an abandoned sun-drenched road in the Mojave Desert. Twangy guitars, slow brushed drums, even some lap steel, this sounds like The Dirty Three on Quaaludes, Calexico on Peyote, Ennio Morricone decomposing in a grave.

1) a very dark and quiet creepy brief intro
2) slow plod of twang guitar, drums
3) slower slightly, some high guitar melodies and whiffs of lap steel, otherwise quite similar to previous
4) spacey sparse percussive sounds, another briefer interlude of sorts
5) slower phrasing than previous with some crashing juxtaposed with lap steel, sparser
6) almost song-like, with tangable melodies, pretty lap steel playing, almost creepy in an Allman Brothers in a straightjacket way
7) a bit different than rest, denser with more instrumentation, banjo, chordal, steel guitar, less twang
8) drone. Heres some downright pretty drone for you if that’s what you wanted/expected, fades out midway into chillness, very minimal
9) chiming harmonics and slow arpeggios and notes for first half, then slow dirty three plod appears

Track Listing
1. Mirage   5. Lens Of Unrectified Night
2. Land Of Some Other Order   6. An Inquest Concerning Teeth
3. The Dire And Ever Circling Wolves   7. Raiford (The Felon Wind)
4. Left In The Desert   8. The Dry Lake
  9. Tethered To The Polestar