Nazarenes / Songs Of Life
Album: Songs Of Life   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Nazarenes   Added:Sep 2005

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-10-09 Pull Date: 2005-12-11 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13 Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23
Airplays: 2 2 3 3 1 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 23, 2022: Run-Away Radio
Song Of Mission, Song Of Righteous Life, Song Of Sharing
4. Sep 22, 2011: Happy Hour
Song Of Judgement Day
2. Jul 31, 2017: Happy Hour
Song Of Judgement Day
5. Dec 02, 2010: Happy Hour
Song Of Judgement Day
3. Aug 26, 2013: Happy Hour
Song Of Righteous Life
6. Oct 28, 2010: Happy Hour
Song Of Righteous Life

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2005-09-29
Nazarenes, the – Songs of Life (Insteel Sounds)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/29/05
Ethiopian roots reggae. Bothers Medhane and Noah Tewolde, from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (considered the spiritual center of the world by Rastafarians) offer a lovely, spiritual sound, reminiscent (for you reggae buffs) of Israel Vibration or Ijahman. Here’s the crazy thing – they apparently don’t work together, but alternate doing all vocals and instruments (except for plentiful guests) on odd (Noah) and even (Medhane) tracks. That’s different! Song titles are nice and straightforward.
(In case anyone’s wondering, “bubble” is when the keyboards kinda boop on the offbeat. It’s a Jamaica t’ing…)
No FCC. I like tracks 2, 7 and 11 best.
1. 5:11 *laid back bubble, all about judgment day and the mark of the beast. People get ready! A bit of rather stunning falsetto, mostly pretty harmonies.
2. 4:10 **midtempo, luscious vocals, nice thick sound, sweet love song. Ends a bit unexpectedly.
3. 4:27 *upbeat, strong beat. “toast” near end by T-Root.
4. 5:08 slow mellow intro, continues downbeat when drums come in. Another rather abrupt ending.
5. 3:48 *upbeat bubble, almost a chant, about getting rid of “vampire” oppressors. Fade at a few seconds from end time.
6. 4:56 sounds a bit like the O-Jays or something – 70’s soul. Crack bad, pot good. (no shit!) Very slow, reverby organ.
7. 3:34 **takes a few seconds to get rolling, once there upbeat with good bounce, horns, harmonies.
8. 4:36 *rather alarming vocal intro and breaks. Midtempo, apparently about consoling a woman using sex. Whee!
9. 4:36 laid back soul groove, all falsetto vocals. Great lyrics and he’s got a very pure falsetto, but not all of us can take falsetto…
10. 5;20 *downbeat but almost… cinematic? sound. Slow vocal vibrato very like Israel Vibration, wistful sound and lyrics about unity.
11. 4:48 **classic-sounding guitar riff, mid tempo, lovely vocals, sweet love song – everything comes together.
12. 3:38 *upbeat number about personal strength. Long fade at end
13. 4:51 slow gospel-sounding song of nostalgia.

Track Listing
1. Song Of Judgement Day   7. Song Of Warmongers
2. Song Of Love   8. Song Of Consoling
3. Song Of Creation   9. Song Of Mother Earth
4. Song Of Righteous Life   10. Song Of Unity
5. Song Of Liberation   11. Song Of Sharing
6. Song Of Mary Jane   12. Song Of Mission
  13. Song Of Memories