Warlocks, The / Surgery
Album: Surgery   Collection:General
Artist:Warlocks, The   Added:Aug 2005
Label:Birdman Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-10-23 Pull Date: 2005-12-25
Week Ending: Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 4 Nov 20 Nov 13 Nov 6 Oct 30
Airplays: 3 2 1 1 3 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 19, 2006: angsty alcohol
It's Just Like Surgery
4. Dec 21, 2005: The Ground State
The Tangent
2. Dec 30, 2005: 180 Minutes - w/ DJ E
The Tangent, It's Just Like Surgery
5. Dec 18, 2005: The Ground State
It's Just Like Surgery
3. Dec 23, 2005: The Ground State
It's Just Like Surgery
6. Dec 17, 2005: neurotic tonic
It's Just Like Surgery

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-10-19
For fans of Brian Jonestown Massacre, Spiritualized, Jesus and the Mary Chain, Nikki Sudden or plain old fuzzy Vox pop laced w/ 60’s acid and contemporary hipster-junkie posturing. Healthy usage of of jangly fuzz, organ, simple pop structures and melody and epic delivery (Think: Big Star, The Raspberries). And drugs of course (Crisco had these guys on his show with Nikki Sudden some years back).

1) mid-plod epic beat and feel, Spiritualized, Jesus Mary Chain come to mind
2) title track, melodic and near indie rock greatness
3) mellower and poppy, jangly
4) waltzy, beach boys school slow dance feel
5) Brit pop epicness
6) simple sturmmy, builds predictably, but breaks down w/ some fine guitar noise
7) big reverby tone, Alex Children worship, epic as all hell
8) again, simple strummy but dense w/ overtones and subliminal drug induced washes and an awesome out-tro
9) laid back pop rock w/ cool organs
10) laid back slow feel, somber
11) chill organ based love ballad – for tha ladies, gets epic as the guitars join and ends the CD in a Spacemen 3/Spiritualized cacophony after 7 min. NOTE: ~1min of silence then a “hidden track” that fell right off a Spiritualized record

Track Listing
1. Come Save Us   6. Thursday's Radiation
2. It's Just Like Surgery   7. Evil Eyes Again
3. Gypsy Nightmare   8. The Tangent
4. Angels In Heaven, Angels In Hell   9. Above Earth
5. We Need Starpower   10. Bleed Without You Babe
  11. Suicide Note