Various Artists / Free Design, The
Album: Free Design, The   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Aug 2005
Label:Light In The Attic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-11-20 Pull Date: 2006-01-22
Week Ending: Jan 22 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 2 3 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 09, 2015: Mix Tape: On the Fly
Kites Are Fun
4. Jan 14, 2010: The Machine Stops
Caribou - Dorian Benediction
2. Oct 30, 2011: lost and found
Dorian Benediction
5. Sep 04, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon (Welcome Back J.C.!)
3. Apr 01, 2011: microclimate
Don't Cry Baby
6. Aug 16, 2007: logic of love
Funk Design (Interlude)

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-11-21
’60s soft psychedelia re-conceived by ’00s artists. Varied vocals. Tracks range from subtle remixes to outright re-workings bearing little resemblance to the originals. This LP is tracked but often flows from one song to the next. Most cues are a bit off: cue manually to get the real track beginning, as noted below. The Free Design are perhaps best known as giving Stereolab their sound (with help from Neu!, Faust, and Serge Gainsbourg, of course). Contributors on this tribute include Stereolab, The High Llamas, Mellow, Danger Mouse, Caribou, Super Furry Animals, Madlib, Kid Koala, Styrofoam & lots more. Tracks just fade unless noted. FCC clean. Start with 5, 8, 11, 19.

1. Laughter, some samples, then a stupid spoken introduction to the album.
2. (Madlib) A respectful remix, nicely done (prominent added percussion). Starts with string samples. Hypnotic instrumental hip-hop segment in middle. Manic spoken male vocals toward end. Ends with manic laughter.
3. (Peanut Butter Wolf) Cue manually. Dancey remix. Female harmony vocals. Later, some spoken male rap vocals. Starts with some synth, then spoken “You’re on the air!”.
4. Short spoken interlude.
==> 5. (Stereolab + The High Llamas) Cue manually. Dreamy pop that becomes happy & swaying and goes back to dreamy. Mostly electronic. Starts with twittery synth, then angelic vocals. Ends with repeated “She’s my very own angel.”
6. (Sharpshooters) Cue manually. Slow, trippy dance track. Starts with echoey harmony vocals, then heavy percussion. Trippy horns. Ends with fast echoed guitar figure, then cuts off.
7. Short movie sample with dialogue about ‘crossing over to the other side.’
==> 8. (Chris Geddes of Belle And Sebastian + DJ Hush Puppy) Cue manually. Happy, dancey Free Design sample turned trippy. Starts with sleigh bells and plucked violin sample. Gets sparse at end.
9. (Styrofoam + Sarah Shannon) Happy, swaying love ballad. Lots of dense, noisy electronics. Starts sparse, with synthetic percussion. “I found sunlight and flowers, soft sun showers.” Gets quiet & sparse at end. Ends with synthetic maracas.
10. Funky, minute-long instrumental interlude.
==> 11. (Koushik + Dudley Perkins) Downtempo, trippy, breezy dance pop ballad. Sung & spoken male vocals. Ends with chorused, angelic male vocals & fades.
12. Short sampled instrumental interlude. Ends with laughter.
13. (Mellow) Dreamy, mostly instrumental pop. Vocals come in after 3 ½ minutes. “Kites are fun.” Starts with bird-call-like synth sounds. Ends somewhat abruptly with some more bird sounds.
14. (Nobody + Ikey Owens of Mars Volta) More downtempo, trippy dance pop. Mostly nstrumental except for some “ooh, ahh’s.” Starts with bird sounds. Fades quickly.
15. (Danger Mouse + Murs of Definitive Jux) Hip-pop based on Free Design samples. Lyrics about consequences of sex with a 15 year old girl. ) Starts with spoken male platitudinous vocals. Ends with dreamy female vocals, fades suddenly.
16. (Super Furry Animals) Welsh psych pop based on Free Design samples. Starts with slow, synthetic harpsichord and harmony vocals. Gets sparse toward end, with heavy percussion and bells. Ends suddenly.
17. (Kid Koala + Dynomite D.) Trip-hop. Female vocals. Glitchy. Starts with militaristic snare drum. Ends with fading organ chord.
18. Short instrumental interlude based on sample of Free-Design doing Light My Fire by The Doors.
==> 19. (Caribou, formerly Manitoba) Very dreamy, hypnotic, epic pop. Whimsical mix of instrumentation. Musically gorgeous. Mostly instrumental. Starts suddenly with vocals and instruments. Gains some intensity toward end before quieting down and fading.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Redesigned (Intro)
2. Madlib Were Do I Go
3. Peanut Butter Wolf Umbrellas
4. Radio Break (Interlude)
5. Sterolab & The High Llamas Harve Daley Hix
6. Sharpshooters Don't Turn Away
7. Crossover (Interlude
8. Chris Geddes & Belle & Sebastian And Hush Puppy 2002 - A Hit Song
9. Styrofoam & Sarah Shannon I Found Love
10. Funk Design (Interlude)
11. Koushik & Dudley Perkins Don't Cry Baby
12. Blowin' Bubbles (Interlude)
13. Mellow Kites Are Fun
14. Nobody Feat. Ikey Owens Of Mars Volta Girls Alone (Nobody Muzak Mix)
15. Danger Mouse & Murs To A Black Boy