Guitarlos, Carlos / Hell Can Wait
Album: Hell Can Wait   Collection:General
Artist:Guitarlos, Carlos   Added:Aug 2005
Label:Nomad Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-09-18 Pull Date: 2005-11-20
Week Ending: Oct 23 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25
Airplays: 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 26, 2007: Transmission Overload
I Found Someone
4. Oct 01, 2005: Morning Glory
Save A Dance (with Marcy Levy on vocals!)
2. Oct 18, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
Shake With My Baby
5. Sep 27, 2005: Umami Storytime
Say You Love Me
3. Oct 03, 2005: The Panoply
Shake My Blue
6. Sep 24, 2005: Morning Glory
Get Back

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2005-09-11
Guitarlos, Carlos – Hell Can Wait (Nomad)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/11/05
Streetcorner (16th and Mission, to be exact) and roadhouse blues, very rootsy and personal. Great for drinking and dancing; not anything unusual in the lyrics (mostly about love, good or bad) or the music, but it all sounds good. Times are listed – most songs are only between 2 1/2 and 3 1/2 minutes, and most songs end several seconds shy of listed time.
No FCC detected. I like 9, 11, 14 best, but they’re all worth a play.
1. solo acoustic delta blues, definitely suggestive but not quite FCC
2. **nice shuffle, dance-worthy, great female backup chorus, horns
3. slower, nice bounce.
4. **David Hidalgo guests, some Latin tinge to the rhythm, slightly downtempo blues.
5. nice duet w/ Marcy Levy, who does backup vocals on most cuts.
6. slow blues, impassioned vocal duet, almost a secular gospel waltz.
7. **nice R&B (original meaning!) stroll.
8. slow blues, boozy but serious drinking song.
9. ***crazy roadhouse piano boogie shouter
10. **uptempo, shades of zydeco (Hidalgo on accordion)
11. ***slow electric blues shuffle, harmonica and zombies
12. fast southern folk propelled by drum and electric guitar, vocal duet
13. classic blues, harmonica and slide guitar
14. ***fast rocker, straight from 1954, great boogie piano, guitar, horns
15. **sweet cha cha cha, almost has an island feel to it, nice lyrics
16. slow blues, very low key and personal
17. uptempo, driving syncopated beat, crazed harmonica & electric guitar
18. **slow classic Chicago-style blues, full sound
19. 10 seconds mostly silence at start, slow, sad solo blues

Track Listing
1. Love Me From The Start   10. Keep Me Satisfied
2. Got No Time   11. Woman On My Mind
3. Get Back   12. My Old Dead Body
4. Shake My Blue   13. Baby's Coming Back Home
5. Save A Dance   14. Shake With My Baby
6. I Found Someone   15. Making Better
7. Here I Come   16. I Feel Love
8. Drinkin' Again   17. Sure Is Good
9. Say You Love Me   18. Hole In My Pocket
  19. I've Been Dead Since You've Been Gone