Iyer, Vijay / Reimagining
Album: Reimagining   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Iyer, Vijay   Added:Aug 2005
Label:Savoy Jazz  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-08-07 Pull Date: 2005-10-09 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 2 2 6 4

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 03, 2005: Asymtotic Freedom
4. Sep 23, 2005: Memory Select
2. Sep 30, 2005: Memory Select
Song for Midwood
5. Sep 22, 2005: Eran Mukamel
3. Sep 29, 2005: Eran Mukamel
6. Sep 16, 2005: Memory Select

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2005-08-11
Mainstream piano quartet with an edgy groove. Vijay is a pianist formerly from the Bay Area, and this CD with Savoy is like a well deserved promotion to the big leagues.

Vijay's stuff is melodic in a nontraditional way, lots of tension, lots of energy, but shielded by that contemporary jazz coolness. Even the mellow tracks have a fairly fast beat behind them, with solos that really dig in. His piano solos are thick and tangly, great stuff.

Accessible, but with edgy elements; you can tell Vijay's got some unique ideas on the keyboard. Listen! Play!

- Fieldwork (tough-edged trio featuring Iyer, like track #9 here)
- Rudresh Mahanthappa (sax player; similarly edgy-yet-accessible)
- Iyer & Mike Ladd: "In What Language?" (GREAT spoken-word jazz)

1- Rolling mid/fast
2- Quiet insistent pulse. Intensifies.
3- Fast but low/slinky lines, nice cold intensity
4- Midtempo and spacious. Patient w/fast burbling solos
5- Mid/fast, firey but lush
6- Spry, snappy. Has its quiet/cute parts.
7- Mid/fast, strong, rainy-day feel. Mildly classical.
8- Soft, mellow, but fast. Turns into a sparkling fast piano display.
9- Aggressive piano stabs. Both spiky and smooth, cool effect.
10- John Lennon cover, nicely dramatic and not cloying. Good.

Track Listing
1. Revolutions   6. Cardio
2. Inertia   7. Experience
3. Song for Midwood   8. Composites
4. Infogee's Cakewalk   9. Phalanx
5. The Big Almost   10. Imagine