Esoteric, the / With the Sureness of Sleepwalk
Album: With the Sureness of Sleepwalk   Collection:General
Artist:Esoteric, the   Added:May 2005
Label:Prosthetic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-08-28 Pull Date: 2005-10-30 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Sep 4
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 01, 2005: Baptism of Solitude

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-08-29
The Esoteric – With the Sureness of Sleepwalking (Prosthetic)
Straightforward hardcore and screamo. Fairly heavy, mid-paced, lots of screaming and not that much of a metal influence. The vocalist is always screaming. The music is deceptively complex. On first listen I thought it was just straight modern hardcore but after a few listens I realized the odd rhythms and syncopation. Think bands like Converge and Botch.
**1. Chunky guitar and lots of screaming which changes into one of the faster and more metal sounding parts of the CD. There are lots of speed changes
2. Much more melodic and slower but the vocals are still in full on scream mode. A HUGE breakdown which comes across and somewhat cheesy because of the lyrics.
**3. Tight with a few cliché guitar tricks. The drumming is damn good on this track and the track goes through a number of changes.
4. Much simpler guitar riff and a minimal sound but the track is still rock. More melodic.
5. Almost an industrial sound in the drums. Everything sounds processed….could be an intro to a Godflesh song.
6. I love the drum fills that open the track. Lots of individual note guitar runs and the track doesn’t seem to go anywhere.
7. Melodic and slow beginning and somewhat cheesy guitar sound but not far from a melodic Strapping Young Lad type track.
8. I wonder when current heavy hardcore bands will realize guitar runs like this are boring. This track is mid-paced with a simple riff done over and over and a melodic chorus.
10. Long and slow but gets heavier halfway through.
11. Like track 10 it starts slow and melodic and the track gets heavier during the 2nd half.
12. Lurching at the beginning and then a very melodic section. The track spends the next 4+ minutes changing back and forth between the two ideas.
13. Lots of melodic guitar and the drums are up front in the mix.
OK stuff. -mph

Track Listing
1. Disappearing...   7. Somnambulist
2. Ram-Faced Boy   8. Make Fine Dreams
3. His Eternal Enemy   9. To Keep Truth to Oneself
4. Your New Burden   10. The Curse of Greyface
5. Unavoidable Conclusion   11. A Fool's Errand
6. This Is Dedicated to the Pre   12. Until the Grave Gives Up the
  13. Mapping the Fall