Hickman, Johnny / Palmhenge
Album: Palmhenge   Collection:General
Artist:Hickman, Johnny   Added:May 2005

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-12-17 Pull Date: 2007-02-18
Week Ending: Feb 18 Feb 11 Feb 4 Jan 14 Dec 24
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 18, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
4. Jan 28, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
Harvest Queen
2. Feb 11, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
Hacker Boy
5. Jan 13, 2007: Biff Bang Pow
The Great Decline
3. Feb 04, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
The San Bernadino Boy
6. Dec 19, 2006: How Many Licks Does It Take, Mr. Owl?
Little Tom

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-12-08
Country twang folk-rock; guitar and male vocals from one of the guys in Cracker. Lots of catchy tunes ranging from deep country to rock, stacked with heavyhanded pop production that makes it feel more artificial than necessary. There's still good stuff here, though. About 50/50 acousic vs. electric.

Topics veer from country themes to things like outsourcing (2), computer hacking (8), and celestial/pirate/huh? (12). Liked the lyrics on 5,7,12. FCC clean thanks to some edits (5,10)

1- Intro track; echoey, slow folk.
2- Catchy, poppy and (if you listen) kinda depressing
3- A serious one. Fast guitar and a dusty Western minor key
4- Mid/slow, overly thick emotion
5- A bouncy sway, midtempo and a bit sentimental
6- Kinda tough rocker, mid/fast and electric, reverb vox
7- Peppy acoustic country, fast guitar, SoCal area codes
8- Tongue-in-cheek anthemic, big sound. Ode to a hacker
9- Gentle mid/fast rocker
10- Country tune, heavy twang, low vocal. Simple and cute.
11- Slow. Swaying beat gets tough later
12- Folky strumming, a friendly upbeat midtempo. Catchy.

Track Listing
1. Prerequiem   7. The San Bernadino Boy
2. The Great Decline   8. Hacker Boy
3. Little Tom   9. Little Queen Bee
4. Lucky   10. Friends
5. Southern Cal   11. Father Winter
6. Harvest Queen   12. Beauregarde's Retreat