Takehara, Mika / Thirteen Drums
Album: Thirteen Drums   Collection:Classical
Artist:Takehara, Mika   Added:May 2005

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-05-29 Pull Date: 2005-07-31 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 24 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 1 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 28, 2023: Music Casserole
Johali/Kozakura, Hideki
4. Jun 29, 2013: Music Casserole
Johali/Kozakura, Hideki
2. Dec 28, 2019: the Acupuncture Hour
Portriat of Forest/Ichiyangi
5. Oct 20, 2012: Music Casserole
Ripple/Miyoshi, Akira
3. Apr 27, 2016: 4-27-2016
Mirage/Sueyoshi, Yasuo
6. Jun 17, 2008: Zikr
Portriat of Forest/Ichiyangi

Album Review
Alex Dunn
Reviewed 2005-06-28
Mika Takehara is a classically trained solo percussionist from Japan. This CD consists of 6 short (10-15 min) compositions by modern Japanese composers. These pieces are interesting, because they offer a different perspective on modern composition than one generally hears from American and European composers. In particular, the compositions are spare but melodic, and often playful. Ms. Takehara’s playing is flawless, as far as I can tell. Also, the cover illustration is rad. Recommend 2, 4, 5, 7.

1) Spare and mysterious solo marimba composition.
2) Mixed drums. Reminds me very strongly of the drumming in Shinto ceremonies. Has some quiet stretches.
3) Solo marimba. Titled “ripple”, filled with shimmers and trills. Gets more energetic toward the end, with a few shouts thrown in. Peters out.
4) Begins with very low drums, which I can see on my equalizer but not hear! Much more audible 1 minute in. Pure bell pulses answers with martial drums. Occasional silent stretches.
5) Builds ominously from a quiet start. Similar to 4. Fades out at -15 s.
6) Solo marimba. Gradually builds up complicated interlaced patterns, then abandons them. Fades out -15 s.
7) Solo marimba. Titled “time” sounds like a neurotic metronome.


Track Listing
1. Mirage/Sueyoshi, Yasuo   4. Johali/Kozakura, Hideki
2. Thirten Drums/Maki Ishii   5. 4. Cont.
3. Ripple/Miyoshi, Akira   6. Portriat of Forest/Ichiyangi
  7. Time/Miki, Minoru