Streamers, the / This Is not Material World
Album: This Is not Material World   Collection:General
Artist:Streamers, the   Added:Apr 2005
Label:Omorica Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-11-27 Pull Date: 2006-01-29
Week Ending: Dec 11 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 14, 2006: Hangtime
This Is not Material World
3. Nov 29, 2005: Foreplay and Sex Wax
Utopia (Rainbow Over the Sky
2. Dec 09, 2005: Biff Bang Pow
Utopia (Rainbow Over the Sky
4. Nov 28, 2005: The Panoply
God Save the Radio

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-11-10

A UK foursome that use 60's psychedelia and garage as touchstones. Released in 2004. Bass sticks to quaternotes, drums non-obtrusive but for occasional fill (tends to be a bit saggy), jangly rhythm guitar with 60's and 70's solo guitar on top sporting the wah-wah. Vocals heavily reminiscent of Lennon in both lyrical content and sound trying to capture the wish for innocence and bliss amidst the singer's grey disaffection. No FCCs.

Picks: 3.

1) Driving song, trying to exhort the listener/baby to leave ho-hum world and embrace "peace and love" with singer.
2) Expressions of lust and yearning from musician on the road. Guest trumpt riffing on the ending vamp along with vocal accents.
*3) More open feel here. Background harmonies with warm melody. I'll risk putting a star next to this track.
4) Psychedelic lyrics.
5) Acoustic guitar, synth. flutes? More psychedelic lyrics.
6) More bluesy feel. Song about institutionalization of the airwaves.
7) Slower and softer beginning. Harmonica and slide solo, led zeppelin?, about finding true self off the beaten path.
8) Edgier feel. About living on the dirty fringe of society. Guest trumpet counters melody at end.
9) Slow acoustic strumming. Jaded lyrics, relationship oriented.

Track Listing
1. Naked in the Cave   5. Silver Birds in the Yellow S
2. Again on the Road   6. God Save the Radio
3. Utopia (Rainbow Over the Sky   7. What's the Worth
4. This Is not Material World   8. Basement
  9. All the Lies