We Versus the Shark / Ruin Everything!
Album: Ruin Everything!   Collection:General
Artist:We Versus the Shark   Added:Feb 2005
Label:Hello Sir Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-03-21 Pull Date: 2005-05-23
Week Ending: May 15 May 8 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3
Airplays: 1 3 4 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 31, 2015: Setting Fire to the Lab
Ten Uh Clock Heart Uh Tack
4. May 14, 2005: The Ox and the Hammer Show - Hangin' Tough
As Good As It Gets
2. Nov 27, 2008: A2Z sub
You Don't Have to Kick It
5. May 05, 2005: Happy Hour
3. Apr 19, 2006: the evil twins
You Don't Have to Kick It
6. May 01, 2005: No Baseball This Sunday
This Graceless Planet

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-03-09
In their debut full-length, these Athens, Georgia kids have pulled together some pretty impressive and recognizable sounds (Fugazi, Dismemberment Plan, Q and not U) yet managed to craft their own distinctive one. They blend dance punk with math rock, but throw in pop sounds and even a little bit of hardcore, into a more than pleasing, experimental even, cacophony. Angular guitars, solid percussion, and 3 distinct vocalists with freakish nonsense for lyrics. Their intense yet spastic energy, however, can get lost. Frequent movement changes within a song sometimes just don't jell, even though each little piece of the incoherentness alone totally rocks. Pretty
damn impressive!

**1. Awesome way to kick off a record. More hooks than there are minutes to this song! Dueling guitars. Sparse slightly screamy vocals with the
occasional female join in.
2. Starts with clapping and stomping. Vox style of chorus reminds me of Travis Morrison. More random change ups.
**3. "Gentle" female vox complemented by "burly" male ranting over electronic noise interruptions.
**4. Features lots of kickdrum and all 3 vocalists playing off each other. Mathy dancepunk? Or at least pretty complex dancepunk.
5. Wait 1 min for vocals to start. Gentle to loud stabbing guitars.
**6. Very bouncy opening and pop feel overall. Female backing male scream-sing. A little organ. Horns lend a big band feel.
7. Pretty much a mish mash of anything and everything. Again more hooks than you can count. Pauses at 3:05-3:12 and then just human beat box noises to end.
8. FCC: SHIT. More interplay between guitars. Gets most interesting after 2 mins.
9. A little bit of stuttering voxs­--always cool.
**10. Female vox and male vox "completing" each others' lines. Mellow for them, but still gets loud. Skits around pretty indie rock and noise. Ends with "fast forward" sound effect and one last guitar assault.

Track Listing
1. You Don't Have to Kick It   6. Slide
2. As Good As It Gets   7. I Am at the Mercy of An Ambu
3. Ten Uh Clock Heart Uh Tack   8. Easter Island Is for Lovers
4. This Graceless Planet   9. No Flint no Spart
5. I Am Destined for Greatness   10. I Am Your Idea