Parker, Anders / Tell It to the Dust
Album: Tell It to the Dust   Collection:General
Artist:Parker, Anders   Added:Dec 2004
Label:Baryon Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-04-10 Pull Date: 2005-06-12
Week Ending: May 1 Apr 17
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 26, 2005: The [Pianist's] Panoply
Go Alone
3. Apr 12, 2005: The Panoply
Into the Sun
2. Apr 14, 2005: The Collective Devils

Album Review
Peter Porcino
Reviewed 2005-03-31
Parker, Anders – Tell It To The Dust – Baryon Records
Reviewed by Peter 3-29-2005

About half-way into it, I started to give up on this album as an original or inspiring one. Fortunately, however, it got very good very quickly at that point. General feel of the album is indie rock with distinct country (and a little folk) flavors scattered throughout. Track 7 gets a double star because it rocks and because I was so happy to hear it by that point. Album is completely bottom-heavy, with everything from 7 on worth playing.
Gentler songs, try: 10, 5, 4 (at times) More rockin’: 7, 12,

FCC on 3
1. 6:24 – Up-tempo, title-track. Straightforward indie with acoustic guitar and clear, solo male lead. Rumbly electric guitar during instrumental bridges, then gets more expressive towards end. No vox after 2:15; not sure why the song has to be so long.
2. 4:00 – Mid-tempo, more of a country feel w/ more mature male vox and harmonies. Guitar is acoustic and also lends to the countryish feel.
3. 3:16 – Mid-tempo, energetic, electric track. Moving back to the indie feel, but still a little folk or country. FCC “Fucking Up”
4. * 3:59 – Down-tempo, electric indie-rock with simple, subtly-infectious guitar riff, and steady drums work well. Male vox are prominent and lead the song.
5. 4:02 – Down-tempo, sparse, starts with piano and scratchy violin, Van Morrison vox, which become more distinctive a little later. Short harmonica cameo, sad strings also pop in and out. Starts fading a little early and quickly.
6. 4:19 – Down-tempo, acoustic, country-flavored track. Strong male lead vox dominate the song at the beginning. Electric guitar comes in prominently later when the song picks up. Some kind of bagpipes-sounding instrument (e-bow guitar?) too.
7. ** 3:45 – Mid-tempo, heavier, electric, rock-bass start and distorted guitar in background. Vox have a little more attitude. Jay Farrar plays guest harp and explodes into the song in a very cool way. Long fade-out. Sweet cut.
8. * 3:35 – Mid-tempo, piano start and male vocal harmonies. Nice vox singing solid lyrics which could have been cheesy but avoid that trap. Sax throughout, some solo stuff towards end.
9. * 4:07 – Mid-tempo, electric guitar intro into deep male vocal harmonies singing pretty countrifiedly. The organ’s back to support the otherwise straightforward rock bed. Guitar plays a little solo and adds some effects towards the end.
10. * 3:48 – Down-tempo, pretty, acoustic, male/female duet. A little country, nothing fancy, and it works well to make a very pretty track. Female vox esp. are nice.
11. 4:25 –Down-tempo, acoustic, simple, straightforward. Jay Farrar covers lead vocals, which gives the track a familiar feel. Hand-clapping and electric later on. Very nice.
12. 7:41 – Mid-tempo, driving, rock. Starts with aggressively distorted guitar riff and Hammond organ. Long instrumental section for several minutes at the end: heavily distorted guitar, Hammond and slide guitar. Another cool cut.

Track Listing
1. Tell It to the Dust   7. Into the Sun
2. Goodbye Friend   8. Go Alone
3. So It Goes   9. Come on Now
4. Something New   10. Keep Me Hanging on
5. Innocents   11. Feel the Same
6. Don't Worry Honey, Everythin   12. Doornail