Merenda, Michael / Election Day
Album: Election Day   Collection:General
Artist:Merenda, Michael   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Humble Abode  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-16 Pull Date: 2005-03-20
Week Ending: Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20 Feb 13 Feb 6 Jan 23
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 04, 2014: Rebop
Independence Hall
4. Feb 15, 2005: The Devil's Valentine: love gone bad and shopping gone mad
Notes From Underground
2. Mar 03, 2005: Multiple Personality Disorder
5. Feb 10, 2005: Multiple Personality Disorder
Dekalb Avenue Dream
3. Feb 23, 2005: Brownian Motion
Im God
6. Feb 03, 2005: Multiple Personality Disorder

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-01-12
Folky and rootsy feel with witty and brilliant lyrics. Moments of Dylanesque depth and vocal delivery, others of They Might Be Giants wit, some fine acoustic guitar picking, lap steel, and Hammond organ. Male vocs primarily but a girl in there sometimes. All songs are really good. Remember basic good songwriting? This will remind you. Pick any track or just play #7.

1) slow-mid waltz, fem vocs about electoral politics
2) swampy rootsy rock, mid paced
3) very Dylan, great lyric delivery
4) “I’m god, I made all this”, witty and great
5) nice simple acoustic guitar picking w/ some lap steel, folky western, sublime, great lyrics, verging on masterpiece
6) mid-up, great lyrics, dark feel
7) triplet feel “I got busted smoking pot outside independence hall” chorus, Dylanesque organ, corrupt cops, hilarious drug themed lyrics
8)FCCs (too bad)
9) total Dylan tone, upbeat chugging
10) simple western swing, another drug theme

Track Listing
1. Election Day   6. Dekalb Avenue Dream
2. Tame   7. Independence Hall
3. Bored   8. She Smokes Pot!
4. Im God   9. Tahoe
5. Notes From Underground   10. All Wrecked Up