Bonk / Western Soul
Album: Western Soul   Collection:General
Artist:Bonk   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Racing Junior  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-09 Pull Date: 2005-03-13
Week Ending: Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 6 Jan 23 Jan 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 02, 2005: Brownian Motion
The Monkey King Creates
4. Jan 19, 2005: Brownian Motion
I Cant Dance
2. Feb 23, 2005: Brownian Motion
Wasted Love
5. Jan 15, 2005: On The Warpath
The Monkey King Creates
3. Feb 02, 2005: Brownian Motion
The Monkey King Creates
6. Jan 12, 2005: Brownian Motion
The Monkey King Creates

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-01-05
From Oslo, full bore indie-punk-stoner-garage-rock, driving beats, intense balls out rocking but juxtaposed with pleasant vocal overtones like later Husker or more melodic Squirrel Bait. Indeed, there is a decidedly retro feel to a lot of this, but its hard to pin if its 90’s grunge punk, 80’s post hardcore, 70’s head banging cock rock, or 60’s rocking garage. I think its all of them together. This will put hair on your chest.

1) epic 90 rock buildup to headbanging intensity
2) full on cock rocking fun and madness
3) full bore rockin with rather pleasant harmonies
4) more hard driving, with an epic breakdown in the end
5) can I say “balls out” again?
6) trippy weird intro to a more mid paced heavy stoney one
7) balls out with nice panned wahed guit and breaks
8) wow, mind blowing swinging heavy rock with psyche breakdowns, this is AWESOME
9) fucking A, rock it old norweigan doods!!!
10) definite upbeat hardcore punk feel to this, almost sounds like he’s swearing but he’s not, false end after ~2:30 after which it does a grungy nirvana’esque breakdown that devolves into backwards noise, fucking A!!!!!!!!!!!

Track Listing
1. Front Page   6. Wasted Love
2. Grooverman   7. Policecar
3. Sarah   8. The Monkey King Creates
4. Ni Hao Mama   9. Waiting in a Car
5. Comfort with a Soul   10. I Cant Dance