Bators, Stiv / Disconnected
Album: Disconnected   Collection:General
Artist:Bators, Stiv   Added:Nov 2004

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-12-12 Pull Date: 2005-02-13
Week Ending: Jan 2 Dec 19
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 27, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
The Last Year
3. Dec 29, 2004: On The Warpath(subbing for Mr.sparkle)
Evil Boy
2. Apr 05, 2008: On The Warpath
Evil Boy
4. Dec 15, 2004: Pirate Love
Too Much to Dream Last Night

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2004-12-03
Re-release plus extra tracks of Stiv Bators’ solo album recorded 1980 after the Dead Boys broke up (the seminal punk band in which of course he gained mucho fame). The sound of this has little to do with the Dead Boys; far less to do with “punk” than it does retro power pop with a serious nod to epic early 70’s, late 60’s pop, a la Yardbirds, Alex Chilton, or The Raspberries. If you need more confirmation, check the band photo inside where they all look pretty 60’s psyche foppish and track 6, an Electric Prunes cover. To todays ears, this sounds like sweet psyche power pop. In retrospect, it really foreshadows the popularity of bands like Echo and Bunnymen, Psych Furs, etc, being post-punk proto new wave “rock”. (Hike up your leg warmers, girls, dye your hair at the mall and even you too can feel “punk”….) Great stuff. And did you know he starred in John Waters’ cult classic “Polyester”?. You do now. Stiv Bators is dead (hit by car in 1990), long live Stiv Bators.

Original tracks 1-9, bonus track 10-14.

1) upbeat sugary power pop
2) angsty teen rock feel
3) mid paced
4) upbeat, nod to early 70’s pop a la raspberries
5) a bit edgier, still poppy
6) cover of Electric Prunes classic “I had too much to dream last night”
7) upbeat pop, good beat and melody
8) the sweet retro pop feel is really sinking in now, especially with the vocal harmonies
9) just a song with a melody, verses and chorus
10) another mix of first track, I like this one better
11) another mix of track 5 as the raw upbeat tom beat comes through
12) epic rock feel, instrumental, obviously needs vocal track
13) FCC (“ya cunt”) live track, pretty rockin, vocs are a little loud, misogynist
14) one side of a prank phone call, too bad the other side isn’t there….

Track Listing
1. Evil Boy   8. The Last Year
2. Bad Luck Charm   9. I Wanna Forget You
3. A Million Miles Away   10. Evil Boy
4. Make Up Your Mind   11. Swingin' a Go-Go (Alt.)
5. Swingin' a Go-Go   12. Crime in the Streats Inst.
6. Too Much to Dream Last Night   13. Little Girl (Live)
7. Ready Any Time   14. Junebug Skillet