Thundertrain / Hell Tonite!
Album: Hell Tonite!   Collection:General
Artist:Thundertrain   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Gulcher Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-03-13 Pull Date: 2005-05-15 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: May 8 Apr 24 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 04, 2005: Epic Soundtracks
Forever & Ever
4. Mar 23, 2005: Brownian Motion
Forever & Ever
2. Apr 21, 2005: Bloodstains Across Atherton
Hot for Teacher!
5. Mar 19, 2005: Brownian Warpath
I Gotta Rock
3. Mar 30, 2005: Brownian Motion
Readin' Riotin' Rock'n'roll
6. Mar 16, 2005: Brownian Motion
I Gotta Rock

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-03-03
Lost live recording of overlooked post-glam, pre-punk, non-hair band from Boston. Think MC5, Slade, Dolls, Kiss, Aerosmith, wrapped into one. Apparently in 1977 these guys were touted w/ the likes of Clash, Stranglers, Dictators in the press, but they just fell through the cracks and were lost. Heres a rare recording from 1979, recorded for radio play, which turned out to be one of their last performances. Long live rock and fucking roll!!! (and yes, disco did “suck” – note on how they censor the word “sucks”, as in 1979 that word still was charged).

1) live intro from “radio personality” ~ 1min, then standard 70’s glam swagger rock
2) swinging rock, dude
3) again, head nodding
4) reading riding rock and roll wankery
5) melodic, Slade quality
6) “love song”, intro is sparse “I always want a beer” tuning etc… takes 1:10 to start, its worth it for the FUCKING COWBELL alone
7) blues harp hoedown cover of “Dirty Water”
8) wah wah heavy rock, “gotta rock” wankery- after ~5 min goes into full on rip on disco…DISCO S*CKS!!!”
9) radio dj breaks in during intro, slower swingy rock
10) obligatory mellow song for da ladies
11) bluesy simple glam rock
12) Slade cover: Mama were all crazee now
13) Hot For Teacher, their own original version, with radio outro, LID.

Track Listing
1. Hell Tonite   7. Dirty Water
2. Love the Way   8. I Gotta Rock
3. Afterschool   9. Cheater
4. Readin' Riotin' Rock'n'roll   10. Got Past You
5. Counterattack   11. Anything Money Can Buy
6. Forever & Ever   12. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
  13. Hot for Teacher!