Keston and Westdal / Super Structure Baby
Album: Super Structure Baby   Collection:General
Artist:Keston and Westdal   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Coup D'etat  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-02-27 Pull Date: 2005-05-01 Charts: Electronic, Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 2 2 3 7

Recent Airplay
1. May 03, 2005: Multiple Personality Disorder
Escape From J-12
4. Apr 18, 2005: Selectronica
2. May 02, 2005: Black and Blue
Escape From J-12
5. Apr 10, 2005: Dancing in Outerspace
Batada Do Mar
3. Apr 23, 2005: Morning Glory (Full Moon -- Rainy Day)
Sonny's Cut
6. Apr 10, 2005: Subcutaneous Phycomycosis
Escape From J-12

Album Review
Michael Rosen
Reviewed 2005-03-15
Jazz based funky beats (supposedly many are played live). The album achieves an organic sound that one rarely finds, even in the world of Ninja Tunes. Every tracks sounds totally different and all are clean and melodically interesting. They do some totally ambient, some dark trip-hop type stuff, and some fast grooving jazzy stuff.
Play:1, 3, 10
1) Fast bongos, a piano hook, warm synths, burbling bassline…a very full sound. 2) Slinky keyboard and organ lines. Very smooth and jazzy. 3) Hard drum kit beat with hints of various Indian instruments and blurby synth noise. 4) Very slow ponderous cut, bordering on trip-hop. Lots of winding acoustic piano lines. 5) Rich, thick bassline with funky drum breaks. 6) Very dark slinky “trip-hop” cut with lots of ambient noise. 7) Essentially ambient. Tambourine noise with electronics and scattered samples. 8) 8-minute long cut. Starts off real slow and quiet and builds to a climax around five minutes in. Lots of nice melodic lines and funky breaks. 9) A lonely drum break that is joined by bass and occasionally a bit of horn or strings. 10) Beautiful cut!! Close to fila brazilia, but warmer and more organic. A large sweeping build with funky electronic drums kit, strings, and pulsing synths. Gets dark in the middle, a new bassline enters, and then the track breaks open again, accompanied by cut up Japanese vocals “Ogenki desu ka—Are you well?”
-Mike, i.e. The Professor

Track Listing
1. Batada Do Mar   6. Verge
2. Sonny's Cut   7. Polar
3. Plastique   8. Battle of the Giant Robots
4. 100 Bucks Each   9. Onikoroshi
5. Escape From J-12   10. Sunset