Mare / Mare
Album: Mare   Collection:General
Artist:Mare   Added:Oct 2004
Label:Hydra Head  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-11-22 Pull Date: 2005-01-24 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Jan 23 Jan 2 Dec 26 Dec 19 Nov 28
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 06, 2006: Cognitive Overload
4. Dec 31, 2004: Hail To The Past, Move Towards The Future
2. Jan 27, 2005: Baptism of Solitude (Best of 2004 metal/hardcore/punk)
They Sent You
5. Dec 21, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
3. Jan 19, 2005: The Sun Never Sets on Cool
6. Dec 17, 2004: SomeOfTheBestOf 2004-First Headsmashin' Goodness
They Sent You

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2005-01-03
This is kind of ‘typical’ to be released for Hydra Head but damn is it GOOD! Mare incorporates the well travelled but not THAT well-travelled paths of Isis, Godflesh, Neurosis and Cult Of Luna. So expect some slow & occassionally midtempo full-sounding heaviness yet Mare mixes in some trippy & very mellow etheral vocal parts & jazz + slow-rock influences (Codeine and Slint come to mind most) that just seem to appear out of nowhere ‘ala Maudlin Of The Well. Altogether a really good debut EP.
((((1)))) Slow & occasionally midtempo number. Starts with a slow indie strum (‘ala Codeine or Slint) then glides down the winding path of doomed heaviness with kind of tortured vocals (that are somewhat reminicent of Isis & Converge mixed together).
((((2)))) Pretty ‘lil drone with mumbling vocals that get eventually clear. Very much etheral then it gets into a groovy Godflesh-like vibe (sans Broadrick & co.’s full scale oppressive heaviness) and some nice sparse drumming.
(((3))) Very slow Codeine like but with a slight “mumbly guy singing for some jazz band in hell” sound and weird tunings that punctuate the rest of the song.
((((4)))) Off-kilter tuning & strumming ‘ala Sonic Youth then slow intense, brooding heaviness with lots of tortured vocal. Somwhere around Neurosis meets Today Is The Day in slo-mo.
((((5)))) Unlisted & untitled track but it’s actually part 2 of the last track. This is some trippy acapella vocal thing that sounds like some unknown Beach Boys track as if constructed by Ulver and Neurosis.

Track Listing
1. Anisette   3. Tropics
2. They Sent You   4. Palaces