Japancakes / Waking Hours
Album: Waking Hours   Collection:General
Artist:Japancakes   Added:Oct 2004
Label:Warm Electronic Recording  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-12-05 Pull Date: 2005-02-06
Week Ending: Feb 6 Jan 30 Jan 23 Dec 26 Dec 19 Dec 12
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2013: Music Casserole
Where Things Leave Off
4. Feb 02, 2005: The Panoply
You Hsould Be Changing Ever.
2. Nov 29, 2012: A Family Affair
Far From Here
5. Jan 28, 2005: Distraction-Limited
Where Things Leave Off
3. Feb 25, 2011: No Waves In Japan
Far From Here
6. Jan 18, 2005: Eclectica
Keep Drawing Suns

Album Review
Alex Dunn
Reviewed 2004-11-29
Artist: Japancakes
Album: Waking Hours
Label: Warm Electronic Recordings

Alt.-country jam band that makes good use of synths. To me, a slightly confusing combination, and hence ear-grabbing. Just when you think you’re listening to an Oklahoma bar band, they bust out some weird synth backup, surf guitar reference, or classical counterpoint. Fits in with the Wilco/Calexico sound. The structure in some tracks is pretty loose, being improvised. I liked the slow stuff, principally 2 6, 7. More active tracks are 1, 5 and 10.

1) 60 bpm. Hoving electronic dissonance, background clicks. Later, pedal guitar (!), drum beat, and violin, morphs into Americana ala Wilco. Fades back into spare electronica.
2) 72 bpm. Delicate pedal guitar intro, then alt. country. More introspective acoustic middle section. Recommended.
3) 60 bpm. Quiet solo piano. Sound ends ~10s before the end.
4) 82 bpm. Introspective electric guitar. Develops a beat, and falls into alt. country.
5) 144 bpm. Violin, quiet electronics, pedal guitar, bass. Major key and sunny. The mellowest surf guitar ever.
6) 72 bpm. Solo piano intro, then strings and pedal guitar. Has a nice piano coda. Recommended.
7) 48 bpm. Spare guitars, high bass line. Opens up in the middle, then has a lovely fade out. Recommended.
8) 70 bpm. Subdued solo piano. Ends about 10 s early.
9) 80 bpm. Piano opening, slightly bluesy. Later, pedal guitar.
10) Kick ass! Counterpoint! Rockin’ synth, sad cello. Pedal guitar and beat sneak in. Several shifts in feel between guitar and drums, to strings, and back. Cool.

Alex D.

Track Listing
1. Keep Drawing Suns   6. You Hsould Be Changing Ever.
2. Thumb on the Scale   7. Stay Dizzy
3. Untitled One   8. Untitled Two
4. Tremor   9. Alice and Twins
5. Far From Here   10. Where Things Leave Off