Rodriguez-Lopez, Omar / A Manual Dexterity: Soundtrack
Album: A Manual Dexterity: Soundtrack   Collection:General
Artist:Rodriguez-Lopez, Omar   Added:Oct 2004
Label:Gold Standard Laboratorie  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-11-29 Pull Date: 2005-01-31 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jan 30 Jan 23 Jan 16 Jan 9 Dec 26 Dec 19 Dec 12 Dec 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 24, 2005: the ox and hammer show
Here the Tame Go By
4. Jan 07, 2005: the ox and hammer show
Deus Ex Machina
2. Jan 18, 2005: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Dramatic Theme
5. Jan 05, 2005: the ox and hammer show
Form a Limit
3. Jan 09, 2005: the ox and hammer show
A Dressing Failure
6. Dec 24, 2004: Memory Select, late night version
A Dressing Failure

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2004-11-17
Where avante experimentalism, tirppy noise psyche, indie rock and spazz free prog meet, you find this cd. Made by half of the songwriting duo of Mars Volta, connected to At the Drive In, this CD is a schizophrenic beautiful mess. Just when you think its art-school experimental it turns wanker prog, then it goes all post rock, then ultra noise, then ends with a “real” song with vocals (of all things!). Good stuff that may hopefully expand the horizons of indie rockers everywhere. Bringing noise to the masses.

1) slow to build, dreamy, echoey experimental, free-jazz drumming soon appears and after ~3 min becomes somber psychey prog rock with wanker guitar
2) super quiet 50 sec intro to funkier prog, caution super quiet outro after ~3.5 min
3) pretty guitar arpeggio turns lush with the noise of an electric guit being plugged in, gets denser and becomes downtempo chill after ~3min, wanker guit still there, excellent drone noise at end
4) treated salsa music, weird, nice
5) free improv feel, chill, trippy, gets louder toward end
6) guitar trippiness a la early Fripp-Summers
7) lush layered noisey intro, continues w/ a subtle electro beat, lush hypnotic, cool
8) chill, interspersed w/ total spazz freakouts, gets basic rocky
9) total space-out trip
10) “real”song, w/ vocs, beat, still really trippy w/ efx, mid paced heavy feel

Track Listing
1. Around Knuckle White Tile   6. A Dressing Failure
2. Dyna Sark Arches   7. Sensory Decay Part 2
3. Here the Tame Go By   8. Of Blood Blue Blisters
4. Deus Ex Machina   9. Dream Sequence
5. Dramatic Theme   10. The Palpitations
  11. Form a Limit