Price, Rob / At Sunset
Album: At Sunset   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Price, Rob   Added:Sep 2004
Label:Gutbrain Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-10-04 Pull Date: 2004-12-06 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Nov 21 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 20, 2007: Memory Select
1600 Hours
4. Nov 05, 2004: Still No Cover, No Minimum
Night Visioin
2. Nov 16, 2004: Lick my moody guitar show
At Sunset
5. Oct 28, 2004: Umami Jazz Program
Night Visioin
3. Nov 12, 2004: No Cover, No Minimum - I Like To Riff!
Mouse Game
6. Oct 26, 2004: Lick My Moody Guitar
At Sunset

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2004-10-10
A fun session led by guitar and sax. It's different, because Price plays a twangy, cowboy-Western-style guitar, making for a more rockin' sound than your usual jazz guitar. Includes some catchy, friendly pieces (2,4,7) and a couple boundary pushers (3,5).

Price has assembled quite the backing band: Ellery Eskelin (sax), Joey Baron (drums); and former local player and Mr. Bungle member Trevor Dunn (bass). The faster tracks are fun, but don't discount the slow ones, where you get to hear Eskelin have fun tromping all over the changes. Every track is worthy.

1- Drifty mysterious feel. Gets into a choppy attack mode.
2- Kind of a cowboy swing, midtempo and upbeat.
3- Slow and loose; thoughtful
4- Fast rocker
5- Midtempo, with slow dramatic feel. Some slow, nicely chaotic soloing.
6- Slow, with cool fluid sax
7- Midtempo; a bouncy, catchy theme
8- A slow, loungy blues, extended to 15 minutes.

Track Listing
1. 1600 Hours   5. Jack of Cats
2. Night Visioin   6. Where It Snows
3. Icicles   7. Mouse Game
4. Main Title   8. At Sunset