J Why & Julz a / Urban Shocker
Album: Urban Shocker   Collection:General
Artist:J Why & Julz a   Added:Aug 2004

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-10-04 Pull Date: 2004-12-06
Week Ending: Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 17, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Let Me Show You Somethin
4. Oct 22, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
The Ballad of Urban Shocker
2. Nov 12, 2004: Mike's Approximation
Let Me Show You Somethin
5. Oct 11, 2004: Not the City Council!
We Dont Have Much Time
3. Nov 04, 2004: Umami Jazz Program
We Dont Have Much Time
6. Oct 10, 2004: Oh Messy Life
Your Body Gets Used Tuit

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-10-04
Excellent sample-art trip hop and electronica. All sounds found on the recording were recorded live on the streets of NYC. However, this is not a gimmick, as the end result is not an obvious sum of the parts. This is the real deal. For the fans of Matmos, People Like Us, Prefuse 73. -stirling

(((1))) Street vocal samples and street sounds looped in an irregular fashion that evolves to emulate the effect of walking down a busy change.
((2)) Beat make from street sounds (a la Stomp, but more artistic) Nice interspersing vocal samples.
3) Spoken word about baseball along with samples of children. (under 1 minute long!)
4) Crunchy beats, various notes create a basic melody.
((5)) ** FCC’s ** Hip hop! Beat made from horse hooves.
6) Another street collage with a heavy emphasis on bus sounds and horns.
7) vocals listing off where they are.
8) buzzing sounds, birds, swirl around.
9) A good light beat made with clicking sounds with long chords of music (how’d they sample that?)
10) short song playing with vocal samples (under 1 min long!)
((11))) **FCC “pissed”** hip hop! Great beat and lyrics.

Track Listing
1. We Dont Have Much Time   6. Rebar
2. Your Body Gets Used Tuit   7. D.U.M.B
3. The Ballad of Urban Shocker   8. Trash Processional
4. The Fake Mccoy   9. Let Me Show You Somethin
5. Sucka Watch   10. Micro-Phonics
  11. The Urinal Song