Namtchylak, Sainkho / Who Stole the Sky?
Album: Who Stole the Sky?   Collection:General
Artist:Namtchylak, Sainkho   Added:Aug 2004
Label:Ponderosa Music & Art  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-09-06 Pull Date: 2004-11-07
Week Ending: Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 2 4 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 20, 2007: Lost and Found
Digital Mutation
4. May 02, 2006: Radio Of Imagination
Who Stole the Sky?
2. Jul 11, 2006: Radio of Imagination
5. Dec 14, 2004: skipping work
Kaar Deerge
3. Jun 07, 2006: the evils twins
Kaar Deerge
6. Dec 03, 2004: charlotte's misellaneous music
Amidiral, Kaar Deerge

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-09-01
Tuvan pop. Yes, Tuvan pop. Ms. Namtchylak doesn’t do the overtone voices (though there are two songs on which a “Caspar David Sacker” does some). We’re treated to songs with pop structures and pleasant arrangements, albeit on exotic instruments (for Western ears) and lyrics in Russian and Tuvan in addition to English. Strangely beautiful and beautifully strange, not to exoticize. And one more touch – healthy doses of electronics, but not the cheese sheen of many East-West pop products. Note that the photos of Ms. N are composed of 0s and 1s. In fact, I’d seen her name in The Wire magazine and thought that I was going to be reviewing some sort of microtonal electronic experiment. What a pleasant surprise! I guess I hadn’t read The Wire closely enough. I also love the loopy photo inside. Recommended!

1. Loping ballad
2. Slow beat with high-pitched vocals; nice high-low mix
3. Rubber band-y boing-boing, blippy synth, and an amusing vocal and lyric
4. Ethereal vocal over pedestrian bassline and synth
5. Here’s the mastermix: throat singing, drum ‘n’ bass, and a disarmingly straightforward vocal recitation of “digital moo-tation”
6. Digital torch song
7. A lovely acoustic piano and voice song
8. Sounding sort of Mediterranean with trilling strings and soaring vocals
9. Back-country sound with raw vocals and acoustic picking
10. Tuvan hoedown for the first five minutes, then a silent gap to 13 minutes remaining followed by some abstract then more loungy jazz down to the 4 minutes mark, at which point a folk song that you imagine is being sung while standing in a meadow commences; maybe a bit too much for one track

Track Listing
1. Music Mail to Tuva   6. Electric City
2. Who Stole the Sky?   7. Kaar Deerge
3. Runnin Tapes   8. Ohm Suhaa
4. Predchuvstvije   9. Amidiral
5. Digital Mutation   10. Temple of Majtreja