Parker, Jeff/Drumm/Zerang / Out Trios Volume Two
Album: Out Trios Volume Two   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Parker, Jeff/Drumm/Zerang   Added:Jul 2004
Label:Atavistic/Truckstop Audio  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-30 Pull Date: 2004-10-31 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Oct 31 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 12 Sep 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 29, 2004: Memory Select
Miss Big Meen
4. Sep 09, 2004: ya got me, inshted
2. Oct 08, 2004: Memory Select
5. Sep 08, 2004: Brownian Motion
3. Oct 01, 2004: Bloody Memory Selected To Destroy The Uber-Rich
6. Sep 08, 2004: Stirling's Approximation

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2004-08-29
*Very* "out" trio, with electronics, drums, and occasional guitars. Noisy stuff: loud, dark, and often vicious. All tracks are good... Track 3 is the most attention-getting, but I liked the more careful, sustained mood of track 2 also. #4 is actually kind of nice, and the last half of #1 is a fun ride.

Arguably more "noise" than jazz, it's been filed as Jazz because of the people involved: Jeff Parker (Tortoise & a host of Chicago jazz groups), Kevin Drumm, Michael Zerang.

1- Staticky buzz for 3 minutes, then insane, slashing, percussive electronics. Twangy free improv later. Crazy drum solo just past -7:00.
2- Slow but violent. Gets loud.
3- Spastic, crazy-fast
4- Quiet, with fast drums and gentle, discordant guitar.

Track Listing
1. Lacerate   3. Onslaught
2. Electro   4. Miss Big Meen