Edery, Gerard Ensemble / Linda Amiga
Album: Linda Amiga   Collection:World
Artist:Edery, Gerard Ensemble   Added:May 2004
Label:Sefarad Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-11-08 Pull Date: 2005-01-10 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Dec 26 Dec 5 Nov 21 Nov 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 10, 2008: Jewish Music Alternative
No La Puso Su Madre
4. Oct 14, 2005: the jewish alternative
Nani, Nani
2. May 12, 2006: the jewish alternative
Montanas Altas
5. Aug 31, 2005: Jewish Experience
Aquella Mora Garrida
3. Nov 11, 2005: the jewish alternative
Aquella Mora Garrida
6. Aug 24, 2005: the jewish alternative
Rodrigo Martinez

Album Review
David Shaw
Reviewed 2004-10-24
Gerard Edery Ensemble ‘Linda Amiga’ Sefarad Records, 2004
This disc is essentially Edery with his guitar, plus occasional harmony vocals
(Cassandra Hoffman) and percussion (Rex Benincasa). Divided into
2 sections: first up are 6 love songs of the Sephardim, a Jewish Diaspora group which
settled in Spain and Portugal. These are sung very seriously, as befits Edery’s voice.
The second half is songs of Renaissance (16th Century) Spain. Here the voices are
a little lighter, though Edery is pretty heavy throughout.

Faves: 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12 (Dr D 10-04)
(All track titles and times on back of case—lyrics in booklet)
1 Slow/med, guit starts then Edery(mournful),joined 2/3 through by CH harmony, speeds up, ends 5:08
2 Slow, guit opens, then all solo lullaby. Ends 3:38 after slow fade
3 Fast, 30 sec guit, Edery sings, then CH gets a verse; back to GE, he’s joined 1:39 by CH; frame drum
present throughout. Ends 2:15
4 Slow/med, guit starts, then solo Edery, no drum or harmony. Ends 3:29
5 Med/slow, guit intro, then alternating verses GE and CH, almost pleasant mood, ends 2:53
6 Slow/med, guit opens 40 sec, multi-tracked solo voice and guitar of Edery , ends 3:40 after long fade
7 Med/slow, 15 sec guit intro then duet vox, ends 2:00
8 Slow, 30 sec guit intro, then GE, joined at 4:00 by CH. Slooooow fade to nothing at 6:18
9 Slow/med, duet vox start right up. Nice tones, could even say pleasant music throughout. Ends 3:25
10 Slow, solo GE vox starts, almost wistful, lightest voice of all the tracks. Ends 3:25
11 Slow, 27 sec guit intro, then GE and CH alternating verses, more guit, then duet to end 3:06
12 Slow/med, 40 sec guit start, then solo GE., multi-tracked in parts. Nice handclapping in backgnd,
ends 3:19

Track Listing
1. Montanas Altas   7. Ay, Linda Amiga
2. Nani, Nani   8. Tres Morillas
3. No La Puso Su Madre   9. Aquella Mora Garrida
4. A La Una Yo Naci   10. Mas Vale Trocar
5. Avrij Mi Galanika   11. En La Fuente
6. La Sirena   12. Rodrigo Martinez