Martyr A.D. / On Earth As It Is in Hell
Album: On Earth As It Is in Hell   Collection:General
Artist:Martyr A.D.   Added:Apr 2004
Label:Victory Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-02 Pull Date: 2004-10-03 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 15 Aug 8
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 28, 2004: Under the Sheltering Sky
Late Night Faith Healer
3. Aug 12, 2004: Les Chevaux De Frise
The Serpent and the Flower
2. Aug 19, 2004: Les Chevaux De Frise
Late Night Faith Healer
4. Aug 07, 2004: Under the Sheltering Sky
The Serpent and the Flower

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-07-04
Martyr A.D. – On Earth As It Is In Hell (Victory Records)
Well, it’s a Victory release, so you know that means this is what you expect it to be: metalcore. A nice mix of hardcore and metal (in that order), with awesome gruff vocals, intense drumming, and a clear (almost embarrassing) Slayer influence, but it does manage to keep things mostly interesting by throwing in a few grind influences here and there. Overall, very aggressive and brutal, and the guitar playing actually stands out. Recommended.

1) Intro.
2) Awesome ripper with a bridge that screams Slayer. Too many damn FCCs, though.
3) Some really hardcore guitar squeals over grind-like drumming and vocals that walk the fine line between Tom Araya and Mike Score. Killer breakdown, too.
4) Way metal beginning, and the chorus is actually melodic (not vocally, though); in fact, sounds a little like recent Soilwork.
5) Damn, this is so brutal and nasty, and yet catchy with some awesome guitar lines. Hardcore breakdown with FCC (“nothing fucking left”) at –1:10, sick.
6) Great guitar lines, but way too many FFCs.
7) A little like Hatebreed, but better, and with pounding drums and vocals. Excellent chorus, too, with some almost black metal riffs.
8) Minute-long instrumental with all sorts of samples and stuff, thoroughly punishing.
9) Another short, minute-long song, but the last 20 seconds have three FCCs in them (“fucking”).
10) Sounds like a stunted melo-death song, great riffing, but FCC at –2:24 (“do you fucking blame me”). Catch it and bleep it, ‘cos the song rules.
11) FFCs at –2:40 (“fucked”) and –1:24 (“motherfucker”), but otherwise a great song with some fantastic breakdowns and really good, catchy riffs.
12) Reprise of the second track, all-instrumental, mid-paced riff-laden goodness, much more melodic than earlier stuff, and with the Slayer influence toned down.

Track Listing
1. Faithless (Pt. I)   7. Valley of Solitude
2. Bring Out Your Dead   8. The Last Words of Any Meanin
3. The Serpent and the Flower   9. The Last Words of Any Meanin
4. American Hollow   10. Beneath the Plague
5. Late Night Faith Healer   11. Into Stone
6. Misery Dance   12. The Dead Reprise