Fields of Gaffney / Nature Walk
Album: Nature Walk   Collection:General
Artist:Fields of Gaffney   Added:Apr 2004

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-23 Pull Date: 2004-10-25
Week Ending: Oct 17 Oct 10 Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29
Airplays: 1 2 4 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 14, 2004: Fiction Romance
Stars for Eyes
4. Sep 09, 2004: Hello Kitten
2. Oct 06, 2004: Dross
5. Sep 09, 2004: Hello Mister Peebles test
3. Oct 05, 2004: All This - And Mor!
Broke Up
6. Sep 08, 2004: press and release
Cold Weather

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-08-12
Artist: Fields of Gaffney
Album: Nature Walk
Label: Animal Friends Muzak

Local folk/pop group lead by Eric Gaffney, formerly of Sebadoh.
Loopy, interesting lyrics. The music is centered on pop, with
references with folk, 60's psychedelic, and country. Male and female
vocals, guitar, bass, drums, occasional keyboard. I loved the track 1
in particular. 5 and 7 are good too. No FCC's that I noticed, but no
lyrics sheet, either.

1) 90 bpm. Troggs cover. Jangly, genial sounding pop. Weirdly,
reminds me of a jug band, probably because of the bass line.
Atari-like electronic sounds toward the end. One singer in each
2) 120 bpm. Creeping base line, guitar. Chord changes prominent.
Nice floating chorus.
3) 124 bpm. Repetitive, Beck-esque melody. Jam ending.
4) 132 bpm. Melody strongly reminiscent of Doors "Hello, I love you…"
5) 120 bpm. Harmony, with male and female vocals. Nice jangly guitar.
6) 100 bpm. Thicker guitar, some sort of whistle in intro
7) 120 bpm. Swirling guitar, bass, "accelerated Dutch girl" odd lyrics.
8) 120 bpm. Stompy tom-tom drumming in intro. "What can you do, just
crawl off and die."
9) 104 bpm. "I did acid with Caroline." Drawling lyrics about LSD,
alt-country touches.
10) 180 bpm. T-rex cover. "Cosmic Dancer" "Danced myself right out
of the room." Folky.
11) 160 bpm. Devo cover "Gates of Steel" Power chords intro.
Affect-less female vocals, contrasting with the energetic music.
12) 120 bpm. Lonnie Irving song "Pinball Machine." Lyrics about the
corrupting influence of pinball machines. Music has 60/70's country

Alex D.

Track Listing
1. Push It Up to Me   7. Accelerated
2. Broke Up   8. Oblivious
3. Stars for Eyes   9. I Did Acid with Caroline
4. Wanna Be with You   10. Cosmic Dancer
5. Cold Weather   11. Gates of Steel
6. Long Journey   12. Pinball Machine