Slow Poisoners, the / Days of the Soft Break
Album: Days of the Soft Break   Collection:General
Artist:Slow Poisoners, the   Added:Apr 2004
Label:Heyday Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-05-24 Pull Date: 2004-07-26
Week Ending: Jul 11 Jun 20 Jun 6 May 30
Airplays: 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 07, 2004: press and release
Chain of Flowers
4. Jun 01, 2004: Cold Clammy Hand of Friendship
Mama, Dont Leave Me Lyin Her
2. Jun 16, 2004: press and release
Tomorrow Man
5. May 26, 2004: In the Leaves
Tomorrow Man
3. Jun 02, 2004: Stirling's Approximation
Strange Things Happening
6. May 26, 2004: press and release
Chain of Flowers

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2004-05-12
The Slow Poisoners have gotten a lot less weird on this, their sophomore album, than their previous Edwardian sideshow style (think Rasputina, David Devant & His Spirit Wife). That isn't to say they're not still plenty weird. Kooky lyrics abound, although the histrionics have been toned down. Songwriter and adenoidal lead vocalist Andrew Poisoner's innate quirkiness awakens and stretches as the album progresses and the sound rockets forward to 1972. The album exhibits the strong influence of T. Rex, a little Bowie, and a dash of the Doors (cf. the harpsichord on #9). Mixed in with the glam, acoustic guitar lends a country-folky savor
(#8). The guitar is a real pleasure, the anchor to a disc of melodic ballads that is classic in its nod to those who have gone before, yet
fresh in its fanciful traipse through Andrew Poisoner's imagination. Clean, except "ass" in #13 (probably OK).

Try: #3: brief but pretty; #4: straight-up Marc Bolan; #6: sweetly glum piano piece; #9: a concession to the good old days; #11: nice sunny
melody; #14: sad symphony, a gem.


Track Listing
1. Tomorrow Man   8. Mama, Dont Leave Me Lyin Her
2. Days of the Soft Break 1   9. Spring Heeled Jack
3. The God that Failed   10. We Live on the Inside
4. I Walk a Lonely Road   11. Dime Store Halo
5. Strange Things Happening   12. Doll House Parade
6. Let Go of the Earth   13. Chain of Flowers
7. Heavy Traffic   14. Sad Angel Symphony
  15. Days of the Soft Break 2