Various Artists / Dj Garth: Revolutions
Album: Dj Garth: Revolutions   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Mar 2004
Label:Grayhound Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-03-29 Pull Date: 2004-05-31 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: May 30 May 16 May 2 Apr 18 Apr 11
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2011: Morning Glory!
Price, The
4. Jul 31, 2005: cafe paradiso
Dj Garth & Eti
2. Aug 23, 2010: Big Love Show
Rocket, Markie Mark & Garth
5. May 27, 2004: The Sound Initiative
Rocket, Audio Soul Project
3. Aug 19, 2006: cafe paradiso
Markie Mark & Garth
6. May 13, 2004: Dancing in Outer Space
Rocket, Audio Soul Project

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-03-23
COLL: DJ Garth: Revolutions in Sound
label: Grayhound Recordings

This is an excellent mix-CD that showcases the productions of SF's very own DJ Garth and his cohorts, DJs Markie Mark and Jenö, of the legendary Wicked Sound System (all have guest DJed at KZSU over the years - since 1992). The sound is mostly dubbed-out funky deep house - the kind that represents SF's underground house sound. Local artists EBE, Dano, Rasoul, and others contribute on various productions & remixes. Love it. Best: 2,3,7,9,11(FCCs),14,15,17.

1. chill ambient intro
2. funky groovy disco bassline, spacey synth warbles
3. a delicious guitar loop over a sexy pounding beat
4. deep-house, mellow synths, pumpy beat
5. trippy-dippy broken-beat house, some dubbed out spooky EFX
6. deep-house w/ a progressive feel - loopy spacey synths
7. mad congas & deep rolling bass - long spacey breaks
8. simple deep house w/ a mellow synth
9. slammin' bass drivin' into your skull - love it
10. dubbed-out broken-beat remix of Garth's classic track
11. slammin' bass… this is the best record on the entire mix-CD but it's NOT FCC clean (a few tweaked F-bombs)
12. grinding bass, a tweaked out guitar loop - perfect after track #11
13. chilled out dubby house w/ some simple spacey synth loops
14. trippy-dippy instrumental deep house, neat synths
15. a sweet deep house track w/ a catchy simple piano loop
16. space-y dubby out-there track
17. oh yeah, that nice bassline is back - dubbed-out funk

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Intro Intro
2. Figures on a Wall Stranger
3. Out with the Tide Rocket
4. Never Let Go Collins, Joshua
5. Ez Rider Rocket
6. Know What You Mean Ambusher
7. Lifted Soul Community Recordings
8. En Route Ebe
9. Transitions Dj Rasoul
10. Twenty Minutes of Disco Glory Dj Garth & Eti
11. Revolution Rocket
12. Anthem #1 Dj Garth & Markie Mark
13. U Don't Know Rocket
14. Gettin' Tha Feeling Audio Soul Project
15. People Rocket
16. Koncussive Nectar
17. Markie Mark & Garth Price, The