Groodies, the / Groodies, the
Album: Groodies, the   Collection:General
Artist:Groodies, the   Added:Mar 2004

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-06-07 Pull Date: 2004-08-09
Week Ending: Aug 8 Jul 25 Jul 18 Jul 11 Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 11, 2007: Multiple Personality Disorder
Count Your Dreams
4. Apr 30, 2005: On The Warpath
Head Rape
2. Aug 19, 2006: What's in the Icebox?
Sucks to Be a Girl
5. Aug 05, 2004: Multiple Personality Disorder
Count Your Dreams
3. Jul 13, 2005: Brownian Commotion
Sucks to Be a Girl
6. Jul 19, 2004: Cleanup on Aisle You
No Apologies

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-06-06
Fearless dirty punk rock from a very young Chicago all-female quartet. Basement recording (as in “they were in the basement while the recording gear was upstairs”) but this just adds to the spirit. Hear the Sex Pistols, or upbeat Avengers with Sex Pistols inspired edgy vocals. Short EP, but got me jumping up and down so hard at 5am in the Newark airport I almost got sent back to security. Mostly brief tracks (around 2 minutes). Start with 1,2 and 7.

1. * Punk with soaring garagy guitars, uptempo, top-of-the-lungs scratchy lead vocals with cool deranged backing vocals from the band. Slows down towards the end.*
2.* Arena punk anthem with catchy chorus (“I don’t want to be a girl”) complete with a wicked 80’s rock style guitar solo.*
3.Uptempo, dirty vocals, crisp lead guitar solo.
4. A tad cleaner, popy vocals, but the guitars are still distorted and eventually the scratchy vocals catch up.
5. Rocking hard but finally taking a break at the chorus (complete with a semi-melodic bass line).
6. Starts with sweet Cranberries vocals, builds up to angry rocking with a driving rhythm.
7. * Brief, angry, extremely fast punk. Grrrr!*

Track Listing
1. Count Your Dreams   4. No Apologies
2. Sucks to Be a Girl   5. Head Rape
3. Car Crash   6. Words Travel Fast
  7. Die Die Die