Levin, Daniel Quartet / Don't Go It Alone
Album: Don't Go It Alone   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Levin, Daniel Quartet   Added:Dec 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-01-12 Pull Date: 2004-03-15 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Mar 7 Feb 15 Feb 8 Jan 18
Airplays: 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 05, 2004: Memory Select
4. Feb 01, 2004: Oh Messy Life
Unfortunate Situation
2. Mar 01, 2004: The Digital/Analog War
Unfortunate Situation
5. Jan 16, 2004: Memory Select
3. Feb 13, 2004: Memory Select
Unfortunate Situation

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2004-01-12
Unusual combo of cello, cornet, vibes and bass (no drummer). A very open session; tends toward expansive group improvisation, as opposed to individual solos. Carries kind of a chamber-jazz sound. Overall a slow, muddy feel, probably a side effect of using bowed cello as a lead instrument.

A slower, somber type of free jazz without the fast blowouts you'd normally expect. Different and takes a little getting used to.

Bassist is Joe Morris, the reknowned avant-jazz guitarist who's been trying his hand at electric bass lately.

1- Ghostly, squirrely noises over a jazz bass walk
2- Slowish feel, w/fast insistent ending
3- Very slow. Somber classical feel.
4- Wild, swirling; turns into slow free improv
5- Floaty, slow
6- Stumbly, groping
7- Slow, mournful
8- Slow, but happier; more casual than sad
9- Careful, sparse
10- Oddball swing with sour tones; midtempo

Track Listing
1. Unfortunate Situation   6. Non-Sense
2. Underground   7. Sad Song
3. 17TH Street   8. Nervous
4. In Parts   9. Fleeting
5. Interlude   10. Bronx No. 2