Mandible Chatter / Of Foreign Lands and People
Album: Of Foreign Lands and People   Collection:General
Artist:Mandible Chatter   Added:Dec 2003
Label:Relapse Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-03-08 Pull Date: 2004-05-10 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 9 May 2 Apr 18 Mar 21 Mar 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 08, 2018: Galactic Travel Playlists
A Sun to Lift Sleep From the
4. Apr 25, 2004: Anywhere Out of the World
On the Needles of These Days, Swans and Ponds
2. Aug 11, 2004: Civil Society
Delphinium Blue
5. Apr 11, 2004: Oh Messy Life
Man Bites Spoon
3. May 05, 2004: Stirling's Approximation
Knight of Coins Reversed
6. Mar 17, 2004: Browninan Motion
Knight of Coins Reversed

Album Reviews
Dando C
Reviewed 2004-03-18
Track 2 starts with a Czech train-station announcer (not Russian radio).
Red West
Reviewed 2004-02-17
Mandable Chatter pull in elements from disparate ambient genres, combine with eclectic musicians and instruments, and make an otherworldly experience. On this release they go back towards the soundscapes and ambient atmospheres and away from the more traditional song structures that were on their prior release. Produced by Robert Rich so has excellent use of echo throughout.

Played it at work and co-worker wanted a copy which surprised me ‘cuz he’s not an avant-garde type.

1. nice guitar & water/shore noises. A small introductory tune, like an exercize.
2. continues from 1, starts w/Czech train-station announcer, then some scary noises, then some old-somewhat-gypsy violi, then more scary noises dance beat background, Tibetan-chant sounding bass drone & Tuvan-style vocal whistles.
4.violins, plucks, noises thrown together, hints of voices
5. nice acoustic guitar, a little mysterious, the part of the soundtrack where the person calmly does something they have to but know they shouldn’t
6.quiet intro, small noises, minimal, very ambient all the way through. I think there are only three notes and they’re octaves of eachother.
7.starts w/male vocal in unknown language, then other distant vocal shimmers layer atop, no beat but some subtle synth fills in.
8.strange animal noises, thuds and creaks (haunted factory?), distant dissonant organ
9. tribal drum mesmerizes- beat changes once and then, a minute from end, halts leaving a little harmony prize to fade
10.shimmer, sounds like music for dawn, morning forwards and back
11.starts w/british tube sample, then solo celtic violin with echo, then with some synth shimmer
12.fairground music, a repeat of the theme from track 1

Track Listing
1. Swans and Ponds   7. A Sun to Lift Sleep From the
2. On the Needles of These Days   8. Knight of Coins Reversed
3. Man Bites Spoon   9. Dweller on the Threshold
4. Intraference   10. Delphinium Blue
5. Tangle in Delirium   11. Griogal Cridhe
6. Seven Are the Stars that Shi   12. Von Fremden Landern Und Mens