Various Artists / Fast-Trak Holy No, the
Album: Fast-Trak Holy No, the   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Dec 2003
Label:Grand Theft Autumn Record  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-05-03 Pull Date: 2004-07-05
Week Ending: Jun 13 May 23 May 9
Airplays: 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 19, 2004: All This - And Mor!
Send Off
4. May 08, 2004: 15 Miles til Sunday
Here Comes Sunshine
2. Jun 12, 2004: The Literate Pop Fans
My Super Pink Stars Will Mak
5. May 05, 2004: In the Leaves
Send Off
3. May 16, 2004: Catchy Without Kitschy
My Super Pink Stars Will Mak, Arena Rock Cinema
6. May 04, 2004: Cold Clammy Hand of Friendship
Send Off

Album Reviews
Reviewed 2007-05-06
Reviewed 2004-05-11
This is a 2-EP-on-one-CD album covering two bands. Separate review to two parts.

Coco B’s (tracks 1-6)
This is a resurrection of Elliot Smith. Every track corresponds closely with an Elliot Smith track… same soundscape, similar instrumentation, although maybe a little merrier (“Here comes sunshine” is an example for a song title that could never appear on Elliot’s albums. No pun intended). The songs are good, though, and rather eclectic. These guys can clearly write. All tracks are mellow. 1, 3, 5 are my favorites.

1. Sweet mid tempo indie pop tune, acoustic strumming, faint synth background. Mellow rhythm section added in the middle. Fades out w/1:30, comes back for last 1:20 that sound like a demo take on the same track.*
2. Distorted electric guitar and strange beats give way to a guitar/drum chorus. Mid tempo, somewhat louder. Short (1:39).
3. Sounds like Smith’s Rose Parade. Nice gentle acoustic guitar picking, nice electric guitar solo. Slow/mid tempo.*
4. Mostly synths, drum machines and one repeated sampled sentence.
5. Mid tempo, catchy second half, interesting. *
6. With distorted guitar background and quirky keyboard; guitar solo closes. Mid tempo.

Indie rock, guitar rock. Could hear some “My Bloody Valentine”-inspired vocals and arrangements, and some Who influences. Quite a few tasty rock treats in here, and two interesting instrumentals (.
7. High tempo, loud, Who-inspired soundscape.
8. Mid tempo. Acoustic guitar strumming opens but switches back to the prevalent electric sound. Somewhat gentler track. *
9. Instrumental. 2 ½ minutes of long, sustained keyboard notes, and weird sound effects.
10. Starts with long keyboard note, but soon drums and guitar kick in. Nicely layered mid tempo rock track. Somebody’s speech is sampled in the middle. Last minute: sound of people shouting.*
11. Another grand-sounding rock track. Big keyboard riffs, great guitar.**
12. Another instrumental. Same keyboard riff repeated over echoed effects, guitar background.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Coco B's Here Comes Sunshine
2. Coco B's Sister Cold Caller
3. Coco B's Send Off
4. Coco B's Five Mile Jet Drag
5. Coco B's Arena Rock Cinema
6. Coco B's Between a Bird and Your Soul
7. Eskimohunter Walking Tour of Space 90013
8. Eskimohunter Speed and Other Forces of Na
9. Eskimohunter New You 483
10. Eskimohunter Surfing at 32F
11. Eskimohunter My Super Pink Stars Will Mak
12. Eskimohunter Three Musket Tears