Decrepit Birth / ...And Time Begins
Album: ...And Time Begins   Collection:General
Artist:Decrepit Birth   Added:Nov 2003
Label:Unique Leader Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-12-08 Pull Date: 2004-02-09 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Feb 8 Jan 18 Jan 11 Dec 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 23, 2005: The Sun Never Sets On Cool
Thought Beyond Infinity
4. Feb 05, 2004: Dolce!
Thought Beyond Infinity
2. Jan 26, 2005: The Sun Never Sets On Cool
Rebirth of Consciousness
5. Jan 15, 2004: Dolce!
Concepting the Era of Genoci
3. Aug 19, 2004: Les Chevaux De Frise
...And Time Begins
6. Jan 08, 2004: Stirling's Eclectica
...And Time Begins

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-11-17
Decrepit Birth - ...And Time Begins (Unique Leader)
How come I never heard of Unique Leader until this week when I reviewed three of their releases, all of which are changing my perception of reality. All three bands (Deeds of Flesh, Psycroptic, and these guys) laugh in the face of conventional music (you know, the ability to hum a tune, or whistle along to a melody), with Decrepit Birth straight out making a mockery of it. First of all, it’s got Tim Yeung on drums, which is to say, they had an army battalion fire their automatic assault rifles for about 30 minutes straight (the length of the CD), recorded it, and then used that as the drum track. The guy is so sharp and flawless he really does sound like a machine at times. The guitars are mostly palm-muted, but they sound so wicked! The sounds that Matt Sotelo can get from those chords, and those runs, are just unbelievable; true fret master. The songs are heavy, mostly short and to the point, and have a dark feel to them, which also goes along well with the story they’re trying to tell in the lyrics. That will do you no good, though, since you won’t be able to make out anything they say. On the other hand, the production is pretty clear, and the music itself is pretty much genre-defining. This is the debut album of the year, no doubt about it. Here’s what really stood out:
1) Quite the opener, nice and short, but necessarily so, because anything longer woulda killed me.
2) More of the same, with some crazy drumming that goes everywhere all at once and guitar squeals from hell.
3) Excellent bass riff, and staccato vocal delivery.
5) More guitar squeals and semi-solo runs, and then some craaaaazy vocals.
7) One of the longest songs here, and it shows that these guys were striving for something nice and dark and beautiful. And they succeeded.
8) Instrumental, with creepy layered vocal samples. Huge chords over unbelievable drumming, non-stop double bass madness, sick!
9) Last song, and it’s an epic of immense proportions, finishing up their awesome story, with more crazy drumming and vocals and palm-muted guitars and bass, and all that fun stuff. Warning. It ends after 4 minutes, and then it’s just 5 minutes of weird ambient noises, so fade down in time.
Orges Beqiri 11-15-2003

Track Listing
1. Prelude to the Apocalypse   5. Rebirth of Consciousness
2. Condemned to Nothingness   6. Shroud of Impurity
3. Thought Beyond Infinity   7. Concepting the Era of Genoci
4. The Infestation   8. ...And Time Begins