Broken / Tanjras
Album: Tanjras   Collection:General
Artist:Broken   Added:Oct 2003
Label:Guru Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-12-16 Pull Date: 2004-02-17 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 01, 2004: Les Chevaux de Frise
4. Jan 26, 2004: The Digital/Analog War
2. Feb 19, 2004: Dolce!
5. Jan 22, 2004: Dolce!
3. Feb 05, 2004: forty degrees centigrade
6. Nov 20, 2003: The Human Condition
On All Fours

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-11-17
Broken – Tanjras (Guru Records)
Don’t quite know what to make of this one. It mixes a lot of different elements that one wouldn’t think would go well together. Lots of melody, like recent Soilwork, except without any of the harsh vocals; all the songs are sung in a clean vocal style (a little like Opeth and Tool), only rarely veering off into a somewhat “gruff” vocal delivery, but nothing heavier than, say, Linkin Park. I could almost describe this as emo, but it’s not quite emo since the vocals aren’t flat or out of key or annoying. They’re soulful, heartfelt, well-done, with a lot of a range, and damn near trippy. The guitars are mostly clean, and layered one on top of the other, on top of the other, on and on and on (a little like King’s X). The bass and drums are pretty tight, and the bass lines are actually really entertaining, very fun to listen to, as you can follow them along. Which brings me to another point. The production here is stellar. This is an unsigned band from NY and the CD was pretty much self-recorded and produced, which makes it that much more of an achievement. The song constructions are nothing groundbreaking, but you wouldn’t know it, since they work just fine. The overall vibe is that of a good metal/rock band, mostly midtempo, mostly clean, mostly emotional, and just a really damn good listen. Strongly recommended for everyone, this a fantastic CD. Here’s what’s to like:

1) Starts with slow, meandering, clean guitar and then distorted, down tuned guitar and processed vocals, and then some awesome clean screams and amazing guitars.
2) Another slow, clean start, but more energetic and wit a bigger sense of urgency. Nice use of electronics, layered over all the guitars and the tone here is excellent. A semi-breakdown towards the end, I dig a lot.
3) This is the bass line I was talking about. Awesome song, with some staccato riffing and drumming and the Tool similarities really stand out here.
4) A lot like the other songs, unfortunately this one doesn’t stand out too much.
5) The heaviest track, rather speedy and with distorted guitars, sounds badass.
6) Starts out slow and trippy with odd FX, and then settles into a nice groove, very drum and bass driven. Eventually speeds up and becomes frantic, and then repeats the cycle.
Orges Beqiri 11-15-2003

Track Listing
1. The Root   4. Lucid
2. Phal   5. On All Fours
3. Prana   6. Hyacinth