Gibbons, Beth & Rustin Man / Out of Season
Album: Out of Season   Collection:General
Artist:Gibbons, Beth & Rustin Man   Added:Oct 2003
Label:Sanctuary Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-11-03 Pull Date: 2004-01-05
Week Ending: Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9
Airplays: 1 2 5 3 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 24, 2011: broken flowers
Sand River
4. Jun 19, 2008: The Afterthought
Candy Says
2. Jun 23, 2010: Brownian Values
Funny Time of the Year
5. Dec 26, 2007: Brownian Motion Manque
3. Mar 03, 2010: Lost Verses
Funny Time of the Year
6. Jun 06, 2007: Anywhere Out Of The World
Sand River

Album Review
The Bawd Of Euphony
Reviewed 2003-10-22
Beth Gibbons, the voice of Portishead, teams up with Paul Webb (aka Rustin Man) from Talk Talk and create a beautiful and moody record. The turntableisms, spooky theramins and drop grooves of Portishead are replaced by strong song writing, acoustic guitar, dark piano work and subtle string arrangements. Beth's haunting voice recalls the smoky jazz club sound of Billy Holiday mixed with the tenderness of Nick Drake. This is a great record, PLAY!!! - tHE bAWD oF euphony

1* 1:00 of atmosphere into simple acoustic guitar and choral harmonies and Beth. Gorgous!

2- Moody start, but Full-on band with Great Strings come in and carry the song with Beth

3- Slow, dark piano crawl and vocals

4- Holly Billy Holiday Batman!

5** Great moody guitar line w/ double bass and Beth. Drums and organ enter. Uplifting Chorus. Great production, cool sounds. Standout track!!!

6** Another Great track. Swirling sounds and steady organ line. Dark whispy vocals. This could be a Cure song.

7- Acoustic Guitar and Beth

8* Beautiful. Soft warm afternoon shuffle. Love the Double Bass walking and harmonica.

9** This is the most Portishead sounding of all the tracks. This Builds Straight up. Dark, moody acoustic guitar starts. Airy rhythm drop, packed with tremolo guitar, organÉ Awesome!!!

10- Very od. Organ driven. Effected warbly vocalsÉ cool

11- Bonus LIVE cover of "Candy Says" by the Velvet Underground. Cool!

Track Listing
1. Mysteries   6. Spider Monkey
2. Tom the Model   7. Resolve
3. Show   8. Drake
4. Romance   9. Funny Time of the Year
5. Sand River   10. Rustin Man