Bardo Pond / On the Ellipse
Album: On the Ellipse   Collection:General
Artist:Bardo Pond   Added:Sep 2003
Label:Atp Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-10-13 Pull Date: 2003-12-15
Week Ending: Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19
Airplays: 2 4 2 3 2 6 7

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 25, 2013: Daydream Disaster
4. Apr 24, 2008: A2Z
2. Jul 07, 2009: Hipster Garbage (Vicodin Music Hour)
Walking Clouds
5. Jul 15, 2006: What's in the Icebox?
3. Jul 19, 2008: Bloodstains Across Atherton - Yeah, I Gotta Do That, Too!
Night of Frogs
6. Jul 04, 2006: lick my moody guitar show

Album Review
Eric K!
Reviewed 2003-10-02
Just great! I don't usually go for post-rock, but I love Bardo Pond. At Post-Rock High School, if Sigur Ros are the student council, Tortoise are the AP class, and God Speed You Black Emperor! are the goths, then Bardo Pond are the burn-outs smoking up behind the bleachers. Most songs are long, dreamy, draggy tempoed with the acoustic instruments (guitar, vocals) being buried by and resurfacing from a wash of distorted electric guitar (often mostly feedback) and treated flute. The interplay between instruments is just amazing and the textures of the songs are unlike anything else. Also, it sounds as if the acoustic guitarist and the flutist have some classical training.

standouts: 1,4,5

1. 7:27, slow, acoustic guitar and disjointed yet urgent female vocals under electronic guitar distortion washes which become more intense towards end.
2. 9:00, begins with slight acoustic guitar and female vocals, warbly electric guitar, treated flute enters playing medieval sounding melody
3. 6:45 instrumental, acoustic guitar, effected (delayed) flute, distorted guita enters at around -2:50, drones
4. 9:51 starts with distorted guitar, moany echoey vocals, guitars become more ragged, amazing interplay between instruments. At -1:00, noise fades to a droning cello(?)
5. 7:12 mostly acoustic. classical-flavored, closely micced guitar, echoey, hard to identify noises in background (a bowed guitar?), disembodied vocals
6. 12:56 laid-back, yet unnerving, minor acoustic guitar, female vocals, spare percussion until -9:00 when electric guitar joins in and they postrock out, vocals sound like a distress call

Track Listing
1. Jd   4. Test
2. Every Man   5. Walking Clouds
3. Dom's Lament   6. Night of Frogs