Parts and Labor / Groundswell
Album: Groundswell   Collection:General
Artist:Parts and Labor   Added:Oct 2003
Label:Jmz Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-10-27 Pull Date: 2003-12-29
Week Ending: Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2
Airplays: 1 1 3 2 1 6 8 6

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 17, 2010: On The Warpath
It's not the End of the Worl
4. Jan 11, 2005: %
2. Jun 14, 2008: On The Warpath
5. Nov 10, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Mike Burke for President
3. Jan 12, 2005: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Mike Burke for President
6. Feb 11, 2004: sad and dangerous
Mike Burke for President

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2003-10-15
Parts and Labor "Groundswell" - Three guys playing some crazy electronic/noisy/math rock. Filled with fuzzed out bass, droning and blippy keyboards, and some great drumming. Almost all songs are upbeat and energetic. Some are more droning and quiet, others are more aggressive, and some are quite lighthearted. Overall I really liked this. It's a lot of fun. Every track is instrumental and each one is good. If you like noisy rock you should definitely check this out.
My Picks: 2, 3, 5, 9
Katie P. 10/15/03

1) Slow and droning. Fades in with noisy drones and distorted sounding guitar. Very short.
2) Uptempo and blippy. Bass comes in with drums and it gets a little heavier. Pounding driving beat. It's all very fuzzed out and droning in the background.
3) Crazy fast bass guitar. This is one off the 7" EP. Really nice keyboard melody. Uptempo and kind of fun and lighthearted. Some really nice builds. Ends abruptly.
4) Quiet and slow. Finally the drums and bass hit in and it gets much louder. Uptempo and aggressive. Keyboards get kind of crazy at times. Ends abruptly.
5) Also from the 7" EP. Starts with blips and noises. Eventually sets down a solid uptempo beat with a cute little keyboard melody that gets angry and aggressive at times.
6) Starts with loud droning. After a good while a nice beat is set down. Pounding driving beat on the drums. Gets into a nice groove and some nice keyboard lines.
7) Fades in with more and more droning/fuzzed out sounding keyboards. Percussion is pretty blippy sounding. Generally pretty quiet.
8) Pounding drums and slow plodding bass. Keyboards come in as well in a minor key sort of menacing feel.
9) Very quiet bass line with some plinks and plunks of percussion. Then in comes the groovy rockin' bass line and keyboards. Fast midtempo. Song seems to end and then comes back in after a few seconds.
10) Pounding drums start it off. Then some distorting and droning is added. Gets pretty crazy all over the place and then falls into a solid uptempo beat. Song ends with 2 minutes left. It's silent for about 10 seconds (maybe a little more) and slowly fades back in (like track #1). It's slow and droning, but really pretty. Starts getting louder and noisier until it abruptly ends with about 20 seconds left.

Track Listing
1. It's not the End of the Worl   6. Happy New Year
2. Autopilot   7. Railgun
3. Mike Burke for President   8. Broken Man Going to Work
4. Intervention   9. Tb Strut
5. Parts & Labor   10. Groundswell