Various Artists / Little Darla Vol 20
Album: Little Darla Vol 20   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jul 2003
Label:Darla Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-11-10 Pull Date: 2004-01-12
Week Ending: Jan 11 Jan 4 Nov 23 Nov 16
Airplays: 1 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 24, 2017: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Out to Sea
4. Jan 18, 2007: Fiction Romance
One Light Flashing I Love Yu
2. Oct 25, 2011: monsieur psychosis
Town of 85 Lights, One More Chance
5. Dec 30, 2005: Here Comes Sickness (Little Darla Edition)
One More Chance, The Weather, Outer Space, Jersey Coast Line
3. Oct 18, 2011: monsieur psychosis
One More Chance, Saratoga, Town of 85 Lights, Deep (No. 2)
6. Jan 09, 2004: Distraction-Limited
Step Up (Graham Massey Remix

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-10-07
As always on these Darla samplers, a mix of various types of pop-related songs, some from new recordings, many from reissues on Darla or partner labels. Darla has done quite a service with this series, exposing a great many worthy groups to the college radio listening masses.

1. Slow, loping ambient breaks … zzz
2. Dreamy pop with backward tape backing and vocals of the oooooohh-aaaaaaaahhh school
3. Country-rock lite
4. Funky bass, flute, and trumpet instrumental for the indie kids … and be sure to catch that Eagles sample they slipped in – which, to my mind actually detracts
5. Precious pop
6. Dodgy rhymes in a folky setting … You’re no Nick Drake!
7. Slow, somber, pretty, country-ish tune
8. Catchy but slightly off-kilter pop song
9. Trippy and catchy dreampop
10. Hazy vocals but clearly blippy and swoopy synth accompaniment
11. Warm synthesizer sounds and appealing melody but sort of limply executed
12. Appealingly scratchy effects on a simple, lazy-afternoon, acoustic song
13. A slow, artificial-sounding, yet irresistibly beautiful song
14. A song in the “perfect pop” context less than perfectly sung is particularly grating, even if the song is otherwise appealing
15. Cheeky torch song with cheesy synth accompaniment and “audience” noise; despite the missteps, the smoky barroom with the vampy singer is well evoked
16. 80s/90s blase pop with allusions to Simple Minds (lyrics), 50s R&B/pop (piano part), New Romantics (drawn out synth notes) – wow! This (late) band was once on twee-pop label Sarah (and before that Factory)
17. A less caustic Cabaret Voltaire; here a prototypical post-new-wave, pre-industrial-dance mix of cold vocals, and simple, precise melody and rhythms

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Freescha Feel Back
2. Aarktica Out to Sea
3. Lowlights Dim Stars
4. Ultramarine Saratoga
5. Saloon Happy Robots
6. Pale Horse and Rider Jersey Coast Line
7. Maquiladora Drunk and Lighting Fires
8. Photon Band Outer Space
9. Sweet Trip Deep (No. 2)
10. Flowchart Rainbow Hello
11. Swirlies, the One Light Flashing I Love Yu
12. Women and Children Headless
13. Momus Lovely Tree
14. California Oranges, the The Weather
15. (The Real) Tuesday Weld Ft. One More Chance
16. Wake, the Town of 85 Lights
17. Crispy Ambulance Step Up (Graham Massey Remix