Young Sexy Assassins / May Day in the Garden of Memor
Album: May Day in the Garden of Memor   Collection:General
Artist:Young Sexy Assassins   Added:Jul 2003
Label:Mister Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-10-27 Pull Date: 2003-12-29
Week Ending: Dec 14 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2
Airplays: 1 1 3 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 04, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Sensation of the Horse
4. Dec 11, 2003: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
The Fog Collector
2. Mar 04, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Sensation of the Horse
5. Nov 26, 2003: Brownian Motion
For Ever and Ever
3. Jan 01, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Sensation of the Horse
6. Nov 20, 2003: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Sensation of the Horse

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2003-10-14
Young Sexy Assassins "May Day in the Garden of Memories" - Five guys from Boston. This is some hard noisy rawk!! These guys describe themselves as Boston's premier maximalist desk rock outfit. Well, the sound certainly is maximal with crashing pounding drums, harsh, sometimes squealing guitars, and spoken/yelled vocals. It's full of rock and noise and will pound you until you fall over and cry like a little baby (ok, maybe not). As for the desk rock, I did listen to this while sitting at my desk and it seemed to work. Lyrics are really weird and tend to be delivered in a very dry/intense/sometimes angry way. Highly recommended if you like loud pounding noisy rock and also enjoy highly bizarro lyrics.
My Picks: 3, 4, 9, 10
Katie P. 10/14/03

1) Midtempo that comes crashing in. Picks up the tempo a bit with some drum machines added. Harsh rocking guitars. Spoken/yelled vocals. Fcc: says "fuck."
2) Starts with quiet drumming and then guitar comes ripping in. Noisy with a bit of a groove. Solid midtempo. Spoken/yelled vocals. Note: he doesn't say shit, he says "garnish it" but it sounds a lot like shit.
3) Dragging midtempo fuzzed out guitar line. Some spaced out noises. Seriously weird lyrics. At some point there are two different verses spoken at the same time. Reminds me a little of King Missile.
4) Hard rockin' guitar start it off. Very noisy and harsh. Alternates between dragging midtempo and a faster beat. Ends with cute xylophones.
5) Solid midtempo with some strummed guitar and pounding drums. Harsh guitar comes in on top. Drops out completely for a second and comes in loud and harsh. Pretty angry.
6) Slower midtempo with repetitive guitar lines that adds a sense of urgency. Very bizarro lyrics.
7) Dragging midtempo with pounding drums and guitars. Creepy. Drops off and then builds to the end.
8) Starts with heavy bass and then squealing guitars. Pretty damn funny lyrics. Whoa.
9) Solid fast midtempo beat. Droning guitars. Again weird lyrics, but pretty darn cool.
10) Starts with a guitar line and adds pounding drums. Faster midtempo. Cool droning guitars. Violin makes for a creepy addition.

Track Listing
1. Gentle Arc   6. New Mittens
2. Warm Bricks   7. Swinging Anvils
3. Sensation of the Horse   8. Savage Neighbors
4. The Fog Collector   9. Secret Hut of Tears
5. For Ever and Ever   10. Ghost Hand